DownPaymentMap

Greensboro NC Down Payment Help: HCV Homeownership Voucher

Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership OptionAdministered by Greensboro Housing AuthorityAssistanceNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Facts verified against the official source

What Is the Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option?

The Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option is a North Carolina homebuyer program that works as down payment assistance of a different kind: instead of one lump sum at closing, it makes a monthly Housing Choice Voucher payment toward the cost of owning a home. It is run by the Greensboro Housing Authority (GHA), which administers the voucher program in Guilford County, and it can be used for a single-family home, a condo or a manufactured home you will live in.

It is a way to use a voucher you already hold to buy instead of rent. It is not open to the general public.

Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option at a glance

Kind of help
A assistance.
Interest and forgiveness
This is monthly voucher homeownership assistance rather than a repayable down-payment loan. Except for qualifying elderly or disabled families, assistance is limited to 15 years when the initial mortgage term is 20 years or longer, and 10 years in all other cases.
First-time buyers only?
Yes, with exceptions.
Where
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Homebuyer education
Required.
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
Greensboro Housing Authority

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Does the Greensboro Voucher Homeownership Payment Work?

GHA pays a monthly homeownership assistance payment on your behalf. The payment is the lower of two amounts: the applicable payment standard minus your total tenant payment, or your monthly homeownership expenses minus your total tenant payment.

The record states no maximum dollar amount, no percentage of the purchase price and no interest rate, because this is monthly help rather than a loan. Ask GHA how the payment standard applies to your household.

Who Qualifies for the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option?

These are the program's rules as GHA states them:

  • Voucher history: Open only to families assisted by the Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCVP) for at least twelve months and in compliance during that time.
  • First-time buyers: At the start of assistance the family must be a first-time homeowner, a cooperative member, or include a member with disabilities for whom the option is needed as a reasonable accommodation.
  • Income: Minimum annual income is generally $15,000, with an exception for elderly or disabled families tied to SSI. The record gives no maximum income limit.
  • Employment: Employment requirements have exceptions for elderly or disabled families and for reasonable accommodation.
  • Homebuyer education: You must complete GHA-required homeownership and housing counseling before assistance starts.
  • Occupancy: The home must be your own residence.
  • Credit score: The record does not state a minimum.

Only GHA decides who qualifies.

Is the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option a Grant or a Loan?

It is neither a grant nor a repayable down payment loan. It is a monthly voucher payment made on your behalf, so there is no second mortgage to pay back and no forgiveness schedule.

Your own mortgage is separate. You still need a first mortgage from a lender, and the record does not list approved loan types or a credit-score standard.

How Long Does Greensboro Voucher Homeownership Help Last?

Assistance is limited in time. For most families it lasts up to 15 years when the first mortgage term is 20 years or longer, and up to 10 years in all other cases. Elderly and disabled families that qualify are exempt from this limit.

Where Can You Use the GHA Homeownership Option?

GHA administers the voucher program in Guilford County, with the exception of the City of High Point. If you hold a voucher through the High Point Housing Authority instead, see High Point voucher homeownership. Because the help comes through GHA's voucher program, there is no map of eligible streets: access depends on holding a GHA voucher.

How to Apply for the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option

Start by being admitted to the Housing Choice Voucher Program and meeting the homeownership requirements. GHA's resident-programs page directs interested participants to the Homeownership Coordinator at 336-303-3059 for information about homeownership and housing counseling. Complete the required counseling before assistance begins.

GHA's general housing-programs page says all waiting lists other than Project Based Vouchers are closed. The official sources do not state whether homeownership funds or new participant slots are available, and funding status was last checked on October 5, 2026 as unknown. Call GHA to ask. To compare programs that pay a lump sum, see other North Carolina down payment assistance programs or which programs may fit you.

Questions about Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option

Who can use the Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option?

Families that have been assisted by GHA's Housing Choice Voucher Program for at least twelve months and stayed in compliance. They must also meet the first-time homeowner rule, complete counseling, and meet the income and employment rules.

Is there an income limit for the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option?

The record states a minimum, not a maximum: annual income is generally $15,000, with an exception for elderly or disabled families tied to SSI. No maximum income limit is stated.

How much does the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option give?

It pays a monthly amount, not a lump sum. The payment is the lower of the payment standard minus your total tenant payment, or your monthly homeownership expenses minus your total tenant payment. No maximum dollar amount is stated.

Can repeat buyers use the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option?

Generally no. At the start of assistance the family must be a first-time homeowner or a cooperative member, unless a family member has a disability and the option is needed as a reasonable accommodation.

Do you have to pay back the GHA homeownership assistance?

No repayment is stated. It is monthly voucher help rather than a repayable down payment loan, and it ends after a time limit for most families.

Is GHA homeownership assistance available in High Point?

No. GHA administers the voucher program in Guilford County except the City of High Point.

Is funding available for the Greensboro HCV Homeownership Option right now?

It is not stated. Official sources confirm the option exists but do not say whether homeownership funds or new slots are open, and GHA's other waiting lists are closed. Funding status was last checked on October 5, 2026.

Do you need homebuyer education for the GHA homeownership option?

Yes. You must attend and complete GHA-required homeownership and housing counseling before assistance begins.

Complete Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 12 stated by the program
  • 4 official sources checked from Greensboro Housing Authority
  • Last verified October 5, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    Greensboro Housing Authority

    336-275-8501

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A assistance.

    Monthly Housing Choice Voucher homeownership assistance payment on behalf of an eligible family; the payment is the lower of the applicable payment standard minus total tenant payment or monthly homeownership expenses minus total tenant payment.

    From the official source
    • “A. While the family is residing in the home, the Greensboro Housing Authority shall pay a monthly homeownership assistance payment on behalf of the family that is equal to the lower of: 1. The payment standard minus the total tenant payment; or 2. The family’s monthly homeownership expenses minus the total tenant payment.”

      https://gnet.gha-nc.org/policies-and-procedures/ADMIN%20PLAN-FY%202025.pdf · p. 160, §24.12 Amount and Distribution of Homeownership Assistance

    • “While the family is residing in the home, the Greensboro Housing Authority shall pay a monthly homeownership assistance payment on behalf of the family that is equal to the lower of:”

      https://gnet.gha-nc.org/policies-and-procedures/ADMIN%20PLAN-FY%202025.pdf · p. 160, §24.12 Amount and Distribution of Homeownership Assistance

  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    This is monthly voucher homeownership assistance rather than a repayable down-payment loan. Except for qualifying elderly or disabled families, assistance is limited to 15 years when the initial mortgage term is 20 years or longer, and 10 years in all other cases.

    From the official source
    • “Except in the case of a family that qualifies as an elderly or disabled family, family members shall not receive homeownership assistance for more than fifteen years if the initial mortgage incurred to finance purchase of the home has a term of 20 years or longer; or ten years, in all other cases.”

      https://gnet.gha-nc.org/policies-and-procedures/ADMIN%20PLAN-FY%202025.pdf · p. 160, §24.11 Maximum Term of Homeownership Assistance

  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    Yes, with exceptions.

    At commencement of assistance, the family must be a first-time homeowner, a cooperative member, or a family with a member with disabilities for whom the homeownership option is needed as a reasonable accommodation.

    From the official source
    • “At the commencement of homeownership assistance, the family must be one of the following: 1. A first-time homeowner; 2. A cooperative member; or 3. A family of which a family member is a person with disabilities, and the use of the homeownership option is needed as a reasonable accommodation so that the program is readily accessible to and usable by such person.”

      https://gnet.gha-nc.org/policies-and-procedures/ADMIN%20PLAN-FY%202025.pdf · p. 151, §24.3 Family Eligibility Requirements, B

  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, condo, manufactured.

    Open only to families assisted by the HCVP rental assistance program for at least twelve months and in compliance during that period; required pre-assistance homeownership counseling must be completed. Minimum annual income is generally $15,000, with an elderly/disabled-family exception tied to SSI; employment requirements also have elderly/disabled and reasonable-accommodation exceptions.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.

    GHA administers the HCV program in Guilford County, North Carolina, with the exception of the City of High Point.

    Exceptions: City of High Point is excluded from GHA's stated HCV jurisdiction.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    Official sources confirm the homeownership option exists but do not state that homeownership assistance funds or new participant slots are currently available. GHA's general housing-program page states that all waiting lists other than Project Based Vouchers are closed, which does not establish availability for existing HCV participants seeking the homeownership option.

    Checked 2026-10-05.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    A family must first be admitted to the HCVP and meet the homeownership-option requirements. GHA's resident-programs page directs interested participants to the Homeownership Coordinator at 336-303-3059 for more information about homeownership/housing counseling.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    2025 Housing Choice Voucher Program Administrative Plan; pages display 'Updated: August 2024.'

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Required.

    Before commencement of homeownership assistance, the family must attend and satisfactorily complete GHA-required pre-assistance homeownership and housing counseling.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Greensboro Housing Authority HCV Homeownership Option

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Greensboro Housing Authority or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 1.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.