DownPaymentMap

Guilford County NC Down Payment Assistance Forgivable Loan

Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance ProgramAdministered by City of Greensboro Housing & Neighborhood DevelopmentForgivable loanNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Facts verified against the official source

What Is the Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program?

The Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that gives down payment assistance and closing cost assistance as a forgivable loan, up to $10,000 and up to 20% of the purchase price. It is run through the City of Greensboro Housing & Neighborhood Development for homes in Guilford County outside the city limits of Greensboro and High Point, and it works with FHA, USDA, VA and conventional first mortgages.

It is meant for buyers who will live in the home themselves. The County's contracted provider, Housing Consultants Group, handles intake.

Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program at a glance

Maximum help
Up to 20% of the purchase price, capped at $10,000.
Kind of help
A forgivable loan.
Interest and forgiveness
0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.
Income limit
Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
First-time buyers only?
Yes, with exceptions.
Credit
Minimum credit score 600.
Loan types
FHA, USDA, VA, conventional.
Home price limit
For HOME-funded loans, maximum property value may not exceed 95% of the median purchase price for new or existing properties for the area, as published by HUD and subject to annual updates.
Where
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Homebuyer education
Required.
Buyer contribution
At least $500 of your own money
Liquid assets
Generally limited to $20,000
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
City of Greensboro Housing & Neighborhood Development

What that could look like in dollars

Home priceUp to
$200,000$10,000 (the cap)
$250,000$10,000 (the cap)
$300,000$10,000 (the cap)
$350,000$10,000 (the cap)
$400,000$10,000 (the cap)

Illustration only. Up to 20% of the purchase price, capped at $10,000. The administrator decides the actual amount.

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Down Payment Assistance Does the Guilford County Program Give?

The program gives up to $10,000 toward down payment and closing costs. The County's financing also cannot be more than 20% of the purchase price, so on a lower-priced home the 20% cap can be the one that applies.

Who Qualifies for Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance?

These are the program's rules as the County states them.

  • Income: household income cannot exceed 80% of area median income for the Greensboro-High Point area. The County's published table is from 2022 and is updated each year.
  • Credit score: a minimum of 600; non-traditional credit is acceptable.
  • First-time buyers: you must be a first-time homebuyer or not have owned a home in the last three years. An exception may be made for partial ownership that came from an estate and was not your primary residence.
  • Property types: single-family homes, condos, townhomes and manufactured homes, built after 1978.
  • Occupancy: the home must be your own residence.
  • Your own money: at least $500 toward the purchase.
  • Assets: liquid assets are generally limited to $20,000, or $30,000 for households in the Greensboro Housing Authority Family Self-Sufficiency Program.
  • Price: for HOME-funded loans, the home's value may not exceed 95% of the area median purchase price published by HUD.
  • Representation: you need realtor representation and an approved lender.

Only the administrator decides who is accepted.

Is the Guilford County Down Payment Assistance a Grant or a Loan?

It is a forgivable loan. It is structured as a second mortgage at 0% interest for five years, so the program's assistance does not add interest to your costs.

Do You Have to Pay Back Guilford County Down Payment Assistance?

Not if you stay in the home for the full term. At the end of the five-year loan term the note is considered satisfied.

During those five years, repayment is triggered by a sale or transfer, a change in owner-occupancy, or a default on the first mortgage, under the program's loan policies.

What Loans Work With the Guilford County Program?

The assistance can be used with a conventional, FHA, USDA or VA first mortgage. The first mortgage must be fixed-rate, and you need an approved lender.

Where Is the Guilford County Program Available?

The program applies to homes in Guilford County, outside the city limits of Greensboro and High Point. Properties inside those two cities are excluded, so check the address with the program before you make an offer.

How to Apply for Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance

Contact Housing Consultants Group, the County's contracted homebuyer-assistance provider, for intake and application instructions.

Before assistance is given, every applicant must receive housing counseling: at least eight hours of City-approved homebuyer education and an intake counseling session. You will also work with a realtor and an approved lender. To compare other options, see North Carolina down payment assistance programs or find programs that may fit.

Guilford County Down Payment Assistance Example: First-Time Buyer

A three-person household in Guilford County earning $58,000 a year looks at a $210,000 single-family home outside Greensboro and High Point.

Illustration only

Where
Guilford County
Household
3 people
Income
$58,000 a year
Home price
$210,000

About $10,00020% of the purchase price, capped at $10,000

May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.

  • Where: Applies to specific areas. Read the exact rule on the program page.
  • Property: Single-family homes.
  • Income: Within the limit of $65,900 for a household of 3 in their county (80% of area median income).
  • First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
  • Home price: No maximum home price is stated.
  • Who it is for: Open to anyone.
  • Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.

An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.

Questions about Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program

What is the income limit for Guilford County down payment assistance?

Household income cannot exceed 80% of area median income for the Greensboro-High Point area. The County's published table is identified as 2022 and is updated each year.

How much does the Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program give?

Up to $10,000 for down payment and closing costs, and the County's financing cannot exceed 20% of the purchase price.

Can repeat buyers use the Guilford County program?

Only in limited cases. You must be a first-time homebuyer or not have owned a home in the last three years, with an exception for partial ownership that came from an estate and was not your primary residence.

Does the Guilford County program pay closing costs?

Yes. The assistance can go toward both the down payment and closing costs.

Do I have to pay back the Guilford County down payment assistance?

It is a 0% second mortgage for five years, and at the end of the term the note is considered satisfied. A sale or transfer, a change in owner-occupancy, or a default on the first mortgage during the term triggers repayment.

Can I use the Guilford County program in Greensboro or High Point?

No. It covers homes in Guilford County outside the city limits of Greensboro and High Point.

What credit score does the Guilford County program require?

A minimum credit score of 600. Non-traditional credit is acceptable.

Does the Guilford County program work with FHA or VA loans?

Yes. It can be used with conventional, FHA, USDA or VA first mortgages, and the first mortgage must be fixed-rate.

How do I apply for Guilford County down payment assistance?

Contact Housing Consultants Group, the County's contracted homebuyer-assistance provider. Homebuyer education and an approved lender are required.

Complete Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 17 stated by the program
  • 2 official sources checked from Guilford County
  • Last verified October 6, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    City of Greensboro Housing & Neighborhood Development

    336-850-4040

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A forgivable loan.

    Down payment and closing cost assistance for eligible homebuyers purchasing a post-1978 home in Guilford County outside the city limits of Greensboro and High Point.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    Up to 20% of the purchase price, capped at $10,000.

    Eligible homebuyers may receive up to $10,000 for down payment and closing cost assistance; the County's financing cannot exceed 20% of the purchase price.

    From the official source
  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.

    Assistance is a 0% second mortgage for five years. At the end of the loan term the note is considered satisfied; during the term, sale or transfer, change in owner-occupancy, or default of the first mortgage triggers repayment under the program's loan policies.

    From the official source
  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.

    Household income cannot exceed 80% of AMI for the Greensboro-High Point HUD Metro FMR Area; the published numeric table in the linked guidelines is identified as 2022 and subject to annual updates.

    From the official source
  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    Yes, with exceptions.

    Applicant buyer must be a first-time homebuyer or cannot have owned a home within the last three years; an exception may be granted for partial ownership resulting from an estate when it was not the applicant's primary residence.

    From the official source
  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    For HOME-funded loans, maximum property value may not exceed 95% of the median purchase price for new or existing properties for the area, as published by HUD and subject to annual updates.

    From the official source
  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, condo, townhome, manufactured.

    Applicant must contribute at least $500 of their own money toward the purchase; liquid assets are generally limited to $20,000, with a $30,000 limit for households in the Greensboro Housing Authority Family Self-Sufficiency Program. Buyers must have realtor representation and use an approved lender.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.

    Within Guilford County, outside the city limits of Greensboro and High Point.

    Exceptions: Excludes properties within the city limits of Greensboro and High Point.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    Official guidelines state funds are first-come, first-served until program funding is depleted, but the County's current page does not expressly state that funds are available as of the research date.

    Checked 2026-10-05.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    Contact Housing Consultants Group, the County's contracted homebuyer-assistance provider, for program intake and application instructions.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    In effect since 2022-07-01.

    Program Policy and Underwriting Guidelines dated July 1, 2022; current County page continues to link these guidelines.

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    Minimum credit score 600.

    Applicant buyer must be a reasonable credit risk with a minimum credit score of 600, must be able to obtain a market-rate mortgage, and non-traditional credit is acceptable.

    From the official source
  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    FHA, USDA, VA, conventional.

    The program may be used with conventional, FHA, USDA, or VA loans; qualifying first mortgages must be fixed-rate.

    From the official source
  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Required.

    All applicant buyers must receive housing counseling before assistance; a minimum of eight hours of City-approved education and an intake counseling session is required.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Guilford County Homebuyer Down Payment Assistance Program

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Greensboro Housing & Neighborhood Development or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 1.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.