DownPaymentMap

Dodd Meadows HOME: Down Payment Help in East Flat Rock

Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)Administered by City of Asheville Community Development DivisionAssistanceNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source

What Is Dodd Meadows HOME Down Payment Assistance?

The Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that offers down payment assistance for homes at the Dodd Meadows neighborhood in East Flat Rock. The City of Asheville Community Development Division oversees the HOME funds, and Henderson County & Thermal Belt Habitat for Humanity delivers the help to buyers. The record does not state a maximum amount or the loan types it works with.

This is not a program for buying any home in the area. The help is tied to one Habitat neighborhood, and Habitat's own homeownership process is how buyers apply. You can compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs if Dodd Meadows is not the right fit.

Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows) at a glance

Kind of help
HOME-funded down payment assistance delivered through selected subrecipient partners; for FY 2025-2026, Henderson County Habitat for Humanity received a $200,000 award for down payment assistance at Dodd Meadows.
Interest and forgiveness
The ARHC HOME recapture policy sets a framework for repayment of down-payment assistance upon prepayment, sale, or transfer of the home and allows partner programs to use either recapture of the original amount or shared appreciation. The official sources reviewed do not state which option applies to the current Dodd Meadows award.
Income limit
Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
First-time buyers only?
A first-time homeowner is anyone who has not had their name on a deed in the last three years.
Credit
The current Habitat homeownership page states: no more than $1,500 in total balances delinquent debt; no more than $2,500 in total balances revolving debt; and no more than $2,500 for medical condition debt less than 3 years old. The current self-evaluation also asks whether the applicant has less than $2,500 in non-medical collections, less than $2,500 in credit-card debt, and combined monthly debt payments below 18% of gross monthly income.
Where
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Homebuyer education
Habitat states that homeowners receive financial education and attend classes about maintaining a home; its self-evaluation also states that Sweat Equity is earned in part by attending homebuyer education classes.
Sweat Equity
At least 300 hours
Debt payments
Combined monthly payments below 18% of gross monthly income
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
City of Asheville Community Development Division

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows) and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Down Payment Assistance Does Dodd Meadows HOME Give?

The amount per household is not stated. The official sources name a $200,000 award to Henderson County Habitat for Humanity for down payment assistance at Dodd Meadows for FY 2025-2026, but that is the partner's award, not a limit for one buyer.

Ask Habitat what a buyer at Dodd Meadows would receive before you count on a specific figure.

Who Qualifies for Dodd Meadows HOME Down Payment Help?

The rules come from Habitat's homeownership criteria and the HOME income standard. They may change, so check them with Habitat.

  • Income: The Habitat self-evaluation states minimum and maximum incomes of 40% and 80% of Area Median Income (AMI).
  • First-time buyers: A first-time homeowner is anyone who has not had their name on a deed in the last three years. The record does not say whether this is required.
  • Residency: Living or working in Henderson County, Polk County, or Landrum, SC, and U.S. citizenship or permanent legal residency.
  • Credit and debt: No more than $1,500 in total balances of delinquent debt, no more than $2,500 in revolving debt, and no more than $2,500 in medical debt less than 3 years old. The self-evaluation also asks about combined monthly debt payments below 18% of gross monthly income.
  • Property types: Single-family homes.
  • Occupancy: The home must be your own residence.
  • Other requirements: A qualified need for housing, documents and a background check, and at least 300 Sweat Equity hours.

Habitat and the City of Asheville decide who qualifies.

Is Dodd Meadows HOME Assistance a Grant or a Loan?

The record does not say. The official sources do not state the kind of legal instrument, an interest rate or a forgiveness period for the current Dodd Meadows award.

They do describe HOME-funded down payment help delivered through selected partners, so ask Habitat for the exact terms before you sign anything.

Do You Have to Pay Dodd Meadows HOME Assistance Back?

It may depend on what happens to the home. The consortium's HOME recapture policy sets a framework for repayment when the home is prepaid, sold or transferred. It lets partner programs use either recapture of the original amount or shared appreciation.

The sources do not state which option applies to the current Dodd Meadows award. Ask Habitat which one applies to your purchase.

Where Is Dodd Meadows HOME Assistance Available?

Only at the Dodd Meadows neighborhood in Flat Rock, at the corner of Crest Road and East Blue Ridge Road in East Flat Rock. The award is for Dodd Meadows, not for every property in East Flat Rock.

How to Apply for Dodd Meadows HOME Down Payment Help

Start with Habitat's homeownership process. Review the income and qualification criteria, view the information session and complete the self-evaluation. The tool says that users who pass receive a link to the application and instructions on next steps.

Habitat says homeowners receive financial education and attend classes about maintaining a home. Its self-evaluation says Sweat Equity is earned in part by attending homebuyer education classes. The record does not say whether a formal course is required.

You can also see which programs may fit you.

Questions about Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)

What is the income limit for Dodd Meadows HOME down payment assistance?

The Habitat self-evaluation states minimum and maximum incomes of 40% and 80% of Area Median Income (AMI). The record does not state a dollar limit.

How much does Dodd Meadows HOME down payment assistance give?

The amount per household is not stated. The $200,000 in the official sources is the FY 2025-2026 award to Henderson County Habitat for Humanity, not a limit for one buyer.

Is Dodd Meadows HOME assistance only for first-time homebuyers?

The record does not say whether first-time status is required. It states that a first-time homeowner is anyone who has not had their name on a deed in the last three years.

Do I have to repay Dodd Meadows HOME down payment assistance?

The record does not say which repayment option applies. The HOME recapture policy allows recapture of the original amount or shared appreciation when the home is prepaid, sold or transferred.

Can I use Dodd Meadows HOME assistance for a home anywhere in East Flat Rock?

No. The award identified by official sources is specifically for the Dodd Meadows neighborhood at Crest Road and East Blue Ridge Road.

Is Dodd Meadows HOME down payment money available right now?

The funding status is unknown as of 2026-09-24. Official sources confirm the award to Habitat but do not state that household-level funds are currently available.

What credit and debt limits does Habitat list for Dodd Meadows buyers?

Habitat lists no more than $1,500 in delinquent debt and no more than $2,500 in revolving debt. Its self-evaluation also asks about combined monthly debt payments below 18% of gross monthly income.

How do I apply for Dodd Meadows HOME down payment help?

Start with Habitat's homeownership process: review the criteria, view the information session and complete the self-evaluation. Users who pass the self-evaluation receive a link to the application.

Complete Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows) program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 14 stated by the program
  • 9 official sources checked from City of Asheville, Henderson County, Henderson County & Thermal Belt Habitat for Humanity
  • Last verified October 6, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)

    From the official source
    • “Agency: Henderson County Habitat for Humanity Award Amount: $200,000 Project Type: Down Payment Assistance Project Location: Dodd Meadows Neighborhood, Flat Rock NC”

      https://www.hendersoncountync.gov/planning/page/housing · Housing > Exciting News! Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Program Awards: Henderson County

  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    City of Asheville Community Development Division

    (828) 251-4017

    CommunityDevelopment@ashevillenc.gov

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    HOME-funded down payment assistance delivered through selected subrecipient partners; for FY 2025-2026, Henderson County Habitat for Humanity received a $200,000 award for down payment assistance at Dodd Meadows.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    The ARHC HOME recapture policy sets a framework for repayment of down-payment assistance upon prepayment, sale, or transfer of the home and allows partner programs to use either recapture of the original amount or shared appreciation. The official sources reviewed do not state which option applies to the current Dodd Meadows award.

    From the official source
    • “Policy sets the framework for repayment of down-payment assistance as a result of prepayment, sale or transfer of the home (referred to as “recapture”); and (b) Policy updates include flexibility for programs to use either a the option to recapture original amount or shared appreciation upon sale or transfer of the home;”

      https://council-minutes-archive.ashevillenc.gov/Minutes.2024-07-23.pdf · PDF p. 37 > HOME Recapture Policy update

  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.

    The current Habitat self-evaluation states that the minimum and maximum incomes are 40% and 80% of Area Median Income (AMI).

    From the official source
  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    A first-time homeowner is anyone who has not had their name on a deed in the last three years.

    From the official source
  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family.

    Current Habitat homeownership criteria include living and/or working in Henderson County, Polk County, or Landrum, SC; U.S. citizenship or permanent legal residency; a qualified need for housing; financial/credit requirements; document and background-check requirements; and completion of at least 300 Sweat Equity hours.

    From the official source
    • “Habitat requires that all applicants meet the following criteria: Live and/or work in Henderson County, Polk County, or Landrum, SC Be a US Citizen or Permanent Legal US Resident”

      https://www.habitat-hvl.org/programs/homeownership/ · Homeownership page > Qualifications for Homeownership > Residency / Willingness to Partner

    • “Applicants must complete at least 300 Sweat Equity hours, meet document deadlines (including tax returns, birth certificates, bank statements, and proof of citizenship), authorize credit and criminal background checks, and pay a non-refundable $30 application fee (check or money order only).”

      https://www.habitat-hvl.org/programs/homeownership/ · Homeownership page > Qualifications for Homeownership > Willingness to Partner

    • “The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) permits the use of HOME funds to assist low-income homebuyers with down payment assistance to purchase single family homes as a principal residence, subject to statutory affordability requirements;”

      https://council-minutes-archive.ashevillenc.gov/Minutes.2024-07-23.pdf · PDF p. 37 > HOME Recapture Policy update

  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.

    Project Location: Dodd Meadows Neighborhood, Flat Rock NC. Habitat describes Dodd Meadows as being at the corner of Crest Road and East Blue Ridge Road in East Flat Rock.

    Exceptions: The FY 2025-2026 DPA award identified by official sources is specifically for Dodd Meadows. The East Flat Rock geoid represents the containing census-designated place and does not establish eligibility for all properties in East Flat Rock.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    Official sources confirm a FY 2025-2026 $200,000 DPA subaward to Henderson County Habitat for Dodd Meadows, but do not state that household-level DPA funds are currently available.

    Checked 2026-10-05.

    From the official source
    • “In January 2026, the Asheville Regional Housing Consortium (ARHC) allocated funding for the 2025-2026 HOME Grant Program across the four-county region to create more affordable housing and increase housing access. Henderson County was awarded two projects, totaling $404,000.”

      https://www.hendersoncountync.gov/planning/page/housing · Housing page > 2025-2026 awards

    • “Agency: Henderson County Habitat for Humanity Award Amount: $200,000 Project Type: Down Payment Assistance Project Location: Dodd Meadows Neighborhood, Flat Rock NC”

      https://www.hendersoncountync.gov/planning/page/housing · Housing page > 2025-2026 awards

    • “In January 2026, the Asheville Regional Housing Consortium (ARHC) allocated funding for the 2025-2026 HOME Grant Program across the four-county region to create more affordable housing and increase housing access.”

      https://www.hendersoncountync.gov/planning/page/housing · current Housing page retrieved 2026-10-05 > 2025-2026 awards

  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    Use Henderson County & Thermal Belt Habitat for Humanity's homeownership process: review the income and qualification criteria, view the information session, and complete the self-evaluation. The eligibility tool states that eligible users receive a link to the application and instructions on next steps.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    The HOME Consortium approved the FY 2025-2026 funding recommendations on January 14, 2026, and Asheville City Council authorized agreements with the designated agencies on January 27, 2026.

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    The current Habitat homeownership page states: no more than $1,500 in total balances delinquent debt; no more than $2,500 in total balances revolving debt; and no more than $2,500 for medical condition debt less than 3 years old. The current self-evaluation also asks whether the applicant has less than $2,500 in non-medical collections, less than $2,500 in credit-card debt, and combined monthly debt payments below 18% of gross monthly income.

    From the official source
  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Habitat states that homeowners receive financial education and attend classes about maintaining a home; its self-evaluation also states that Sweat Equity is earned in part by attending homebuyer education classes.

    From the official source
    • “Our homeowners receive financial education, attend classes that teach about maintaining a home, work alongside staff and volunteers to build their home and neighbors’ homes, and when it’s time to move in, pay an affordable mortgage payment.”

      https://www.habitat-hvl.org/programs/homeownership/ · Homeownership page > Interested in Becoming a Habitat Home Owner?

    • “Sweat Equity is earned by volunteering at the construction site, the ReStore, and by attending homebuyer education classes. Appropriate accommodations will be made for people with disabilities in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).”

      https://www.habitat-hvl.org/programs/homeownership/homeownership-self-evaluation-form/ · Homeownership Eligibility Tool > Sweat Equity

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Asheville Community Development Division or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 2.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.