DownPaymentMap

Burlington HOME Consortium NC Down Payment Assistance

Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer AssistanceAdministered by Piedmont Triad Regional CouncilAssistanceNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source

What Is Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance?

Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance is a North Carolina homebuyer program that may provide down payment assistance, run by the Piedmont Triad Regional Council (PTRC) with federal HOME funds. It covers Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Randolph and Rockingham counties. Whether it pays down payment help right now is not confirmed: the Consortium Board would have to choose to fund it. Its funding status is unknown as of September 24, 2026.

If you are comparing options, compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs that publish an open application.

Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance at a glance

Kind of help
A assistance.
Interest and forgiveness
The Consortium places a mortgage on the property for the HOME investment. If the HOME-assisted property is sold or otherwise transferred before the affordability period expires, Burlington recaptures a pro-rata share from available net proceeds; the policy states that for a family that received homebuyer assistance and has been in the unit for five years or more, the remaining amount may be reduced pro rata based on years of ownership and occupancy.
Income limit
Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
Home price limit
HOME-assisted homeownership units are subject to HUD HOME homeownership value limits: the initial purchase price or after-rehabilitation value may not exceed 95% of the area median purchase price for single-family housing, unless the participating jurisdiction uses a HUD-permitted locally determined 95% limit.
Where
Alamance County, Caswell County, Davidson County, Randolph County, Rockingham County.
Homebuyer education
Required.
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
Piedmont Triad Regional Council

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Does Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance Give?

The record states no maximum amount and no percentage. The help is described as a possible HOME direct subsidy to a homebuyer, including down payment assistance if the Consortium Board funds it. The local amount, and the form the help takes, have not been published.

Who Qualifies for Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance?

These are the rules the sources describe. The Consortium has not published a separate borrower-level policy.

  • Income: households below 80% of area median income (AMI), as federal HOME rules define low-income homebuyers.
  • Occupancy: the home must be your primary residence.
  • Property types: single-family homes.
  • Home price: HUD HOME value limits apply. The purchase price or after-rehabilitation value may not exceed 95% of the area median purchase price for single-family housing, unless a HUD-permitted local limit is used.
  • Homebuyer education: housing counseling from a HUD-certified counselor is required for homebuyers assisted with HOME funds.
  • First-time buyers and credit score: not stated.

Only the administrator decides who is approved.

Is Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance a Grant or a Loan?

It is secured by a mortgage, so it works like a recapture loan rather than a grant. The Consortium places a mortgage on the property for the HOME investment. The record does not state an interest rate or monthly payment.

Do You Have to Pay Burlington HOME Assistance Back?

Possibly, if you sell. If the home is sold or otherwise transferred before the affordability period ends, Burlington recaptures a pro-rata share from available net proceeds.

The policy says that for a family that received homebuyer assistance and has lived in the home for five years or more, the remaining amount may be reduced pro rata based on years of ownership and occupancy. No forgiveness schedule is stated beyond that.

Where Is Burlington HOME Consortium Assistance Available?

The program covers Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Randolph and Rockingham counties and all municipalities in them.

Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyDurham CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMcDowell CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanly CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey County
Covers 5 of North Carolina's 100 counties. Where the program applies, from its approved record.

How to Apply for Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance

No application for individual homebuyers is published in the official sources reviewed. PTRC currently allocates Burlington HOME funds through Consortium proposals and requests for proposals for development activities. A direct down payment offering would need Consortium Board funding and a borrower process that has not been published.

Contact PTRC at 336-904-0300 or kkemp@ptrc.org to ask whether homebuyer assistance is open, or see which programs may fit you.

Questions about Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance

Is Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance open right now?

Its funding status is unknown as of September 24, 2026. No official source reviewed says direct homebuyer down payment assistance is funded or accepting applications.

What is the income limit for Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance?

The sources point to households below 80% of area median income (AMI). No dollar limit is stated in the record.

How much down payment assistance does the Burlington HOME Consortium give?

No maximum amount is stated. Any amount would depend on what the Consortium Board funds.

Which counties does Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance cover?

Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Randolph and Rockingham counties, and all municipalities in them.

Do you have to pay back Burlington HOME Homebuyer Assistance?

Possibly. If the home is sold or transferred before the affordability period ends, a pro-rata share is recaptured from net proceeds.

Is homebuyer education required for Burlington HOME assistance?

Yes. HUD requires housing counseling from a HUD-certified counselor for homebuyers assisted with HOME funds.

Who do I contact about Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance?

The Piedmont Triad Regional Council (PTRC), at 336-904-0300 or kkemp@ptrc.org.

Complete Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 13 stated by the program
  • 9 official sources checked from City of Burlington, Piedmont Triad Regional Council, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Last verified October 13, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance

    From the official source
    • “The federal fund sources carry specific requirements and definitions regarding the eligibility of homebuyers, the type of assistance provided to a developer or homebuyer, the length of time that the requirements apply, and the methods for enforcing those requirements.”

      https://www.burlingtonnc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/28751/26-27-Annual-Action-Plan · PDF page 40, HOME Investment Partnership Program section; PDF page 41, recapture policy

  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    Piedmont Triad Regional Council

    336-904-0300

    kkemp@ptrc.org

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A assistance.

    Potential HOME direct subsidy to a homebuyer, including downpayment assistance if funded by the Consortium Board; Burlington’s adopted recapture policy secures the HOME investment with a mortgage and recaptures a pro-rata share from net proceeds during the affordability period.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    The Consortium places a mortgage on the property for the HOME investment. If the HOME-assisted property is sold or otherwise transferred before the affordability period expires, Burlington recaptures a pro-rata share from available net proceeds; the policy states that for a family that received homebuyer assistance and has been in the unit for five years or more, the remaining amount may be reduced pro rata based on years of ownership and occupancy.

    From the official source
  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.

    PTRC’s current Burlington HOME development RFP identifies for-sale affordable single-family housing for households below 80% Area Median Income (AMI); federal HOME homebuyer requirements define assisted homebuyers as low-income.

    From the official source
  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    HOME-assisted homeownership units are subject to HUD HOME homeownership value limits: the initial purchase price or after-rehabilitation value may not exceed 95% of the area median purchase price for single-family housing, unless the participating jurisdiction uses a HUD-permitted locally determined 95% limit.

    From the official source
    • “Section 215(b) of NAHA requires that the initial purchase price or after-rehabilitation value of homeownership units assisted with HOME funds not exceed 95 percent of the area median purchase price for single family housing, as determined by HUD.”

      https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/home-ownership-value-limits.html · Web page heading “HOME Homeownership Value Limits,” Description

    • “In lieu of the limits provided by HUD, a PJ may determine 95 percent of the median area purchase price for single family housing in the jurisdiction annually in accordance with procedures established at § 92.254(a)(2)(iii).”

      https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/home-ownership-value-limits.html · Web page heading “HOME Homeownership Value Limits,” “PJ Determined Limits” paragraph

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Alamance County, Caswell County, Davidson County, Randolph County, Rockingham County.

    Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Randolph and Rockingham Counties and all municipalities therein.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    The FY2026-27 Annual Action Plan funds HOME homeowner rehabilitation and affordable housing development/preservation, and states that the HOME Consortium Board would have to choose to fund Downpayment Assistance or Single-Family Home Developments for eligible public-housing residents. No official source reviewed states that direct individual homebuyer DPA is currently funded or accepting applications, so direct-buyer DPA availability is recorded as unknown/not currently evidenced as open.

    Checked 2026-09-24.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    No current individual-homebuyer DPA application is published in the official sources reviewed. PTRC currently allocates Burlington HOME funds through Consortium proposals/RFPs for eligible development activities; any direct borrower downpayment-assistance offering would require Consortium Board funding and a borrower-level process that has not been published.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    In effect since 2026-07-01.

    The current FY2026-27 Annual Action Plan covers July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027 and states that City Council reviewed and approved the Annual Action Plan after the July 7, 2026 public hearing. The City's Annual Action Plans page lists it as the 2026-27 Action Plan.

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Required.

    HUD states that all homebuyers assisted with HOME funds, including recipients of HOME-funded direct homebuyer assistance such as downpayment assistance, must receive housing counseling from a HUD-certified counselor working for a HUD-approved housing counseling agency.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer Assistance

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Piedmont Triad Regional Council or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 3.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.