Raleigh Homebuyer Assistance: Deferred Down Payment Loan
Citywide Homebuyer Assistance ProgramAdministered by City of Raleigh Housing and Community DevelopmentDeferred loanNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source
What Is the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program?
The Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program is a Raleigh, North Carolina homebuyer program that gives down payment assistance as a zero-interest deferred loan of up to $45,000. It is run by City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development and can be used for a down payment, closing costs, or a gap in financing on a home inside the Raleigh city limits.
The City's homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers, and a Homeownership Class is required. See how it compares in our list of North Carolina down payment assistance programs.
Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program at a glance
- Maximum help
- Up to $45,000.
- Kind of help
- A deferred loan.
- Interest and forgiveness
- 0% interest. Forgiven after 30 years.
- Income limit
- The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
- First-time buyers only?
- Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
- Home price limit
- Official City sources conflict on the citywide program's current purchase-price cap: the service page lists $389,500 in Program Descriptions and $384,750 in Steps for Buying, while the final FY 2026-27 Annual Action Plan states that the 2026 purchase price limit for homebuyer assistance and homeowner rehabilitation programs is $399,000.
- Where
- Raleigh city.
- Homebuyer education
- Required.
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Help Does Raleigh's Citywide Program Give?
The most the program lends is $45,000. The City describes the money as help with a down payment, closing costs, or gaps in financing, so it can fill a shortfall on either side of the purchase. The record does not say how the amount for each buyer is set, so ask your lender or the City how much fits your purchase.
Who Qualifies for the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program?
These are the program's rules as the City states them. Only the City decides who qualifies.
- Income: household income at or below the City's limit, described as no more than 80 percent of area median income. The limit depends on household size, and the City posts the current table on its program page.
- First-time or repeat buyers: first-time homebuyers only. The sources reviewed do not define "first-time."
- Property types: single-family homes, townhomes and condominiums, new or existing.
- Location: inside the Raleigh city limits.
- Occupancy: the home must be your primary residence.
- Homebuyer education: a Homeownership Class, taught by a HUD-approved Housing Counselor, earns the certificate the program requires.
- Credit score: not stated in the sources reviewed.
- Purchase price: the City's own pages give different price caps, so confirm the current one with the City before you shop.
Is Raleigh's Citywide Homebuyer Assistance a Grant or a Loan?
It is a deferred loan, not a grant. The interest rate is 0%, and no monthly payments are due while the loan is deferred. It works as a second mortgage behind your main home loan.
Do You Have to Pay Back the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Loan?
Not on a monthly basis. No payments are due for 20 years unless you sell the home or it stops being your primary residence. If you stay in the home for an additional 10 years, 30 years in total, the loan is forgiven.
Which Mortgages Work With Raleigh's Citywide Program?
The City's sources do not list which first-mortgage types (FHA, VA, USDA or conventional) the program accepts. You get pre-approved through one of the City's approved lenders, and that lender can tell you which loans it pairs with the program.
Where Can You Use the Citywide Program in Raleigh?
The home must be located within the city limits of Raleigh. A home in Raleigh's surrounding areas outside the city limits is not covered. Check the address with the City before you make an offer.
How to Apply for Raleigh's Citywide Homebuyer Assistance
The steps, in the City's order:
1. Complete the required Homeownership Class and earn your certificate. 2. Get pre-approved for a mortgage with an approved lender. 3. Your lender then applies to the City's program for you.
For questions, contact City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development at 919-996-4330 or housing@raleighnc.gov. Funding: the City's budget for this program runs through June 30, 2027, but as of September 26, 2026, the sources reviewed did not state whether funds are open to new applicants.
Citywide Program Example: First-Time Buyer in Wake County
A three-person household in Raleigh earns $78,000 a year and finds a $320,000 townhome inside the city limits. They plan to live in it as their primary residence.
Illustration only
- Where
- Raleigh city, Wake County
- Household
- 3 people
- Income
- $78,000 a year
- Home price
- $320,000
About $45,000the program's maximum
May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.
- Where: Covers their city or town.
- Property: A single-family home.
- Income: Within the program's limit of $95,300 for a household of 3.
- First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
- Home price: No maximum home price is stated.
- Who it is for: Open to anyone.
- Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.
An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.
Questions about Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program
What is the income limit for the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program?
The City says households must earn no more than 80 percent of area median income, with a limit that depends on household size. The City posts the current table on its Homebuyer Assistance page.
How much does the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program give?
Up to $45,000, as a zero-interest deferred loan for a down payment, closing costs, or a gap in financing.
Can repeat buyers use Raleigh's Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program?
No. The City says its homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers. The sources reviewed do not define a first-time homebuyer, so ask the City about your situation.
Does the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program pay closing costs?
Yes, it can. The City describes the loan as help with a down payment, closing costs, or gaps in financing.
Is the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance loan forgiven?
Yes, after 30 years. No payments are due for 20 years unless the home is sold or stops being your primary residence, and if you stay an additional 10 years the loan is forgiven.
Do you need homebuyer education for Raleigh's Citywide program?
Yes. The City requires a Homeownership Class, and the certificate you earn lets you take part in the program. The class must be taught by a HUD-approved Housing Counselor.
Can you use the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program outside Raleigh?
No. The home must be within the Raleigh city limits.
How do you apply for the Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program?
You do not apply on your own. After the Homeownership Class, you get pre-approved by an approved lender, and the lender applies to the City's program for you.
Complete Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 15 stated by the program
- 5 official sources checked from City of Raleigh, City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development
- Last verified October 2, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program
From the official source
“Homebuyer Assistance Program”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Program Descriptions > Homebuyer Assistance Program
2 of 19
Who runs it
City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development
919-996-4330
housing@raleighnc.gov
From the official source
“Our homebuyer assistance programs offer zero-interest loans to help with down payment and closing costs or a gap in financing.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Apply for Homebuyer Assistance page, City of Raleigh Housing service
“https://raleighnc.gov/housing-and-community-development”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing-and-community-development · Housing and Community Development page URL
“919-996-4330”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing-and-community-development · Housing and Community Development > Contact
“housing@raleighnc.gov”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing-and-community-development · Housing and Community Development > Contact
3 of 19
Kind of help
A deferred loan.
Zero-interest second mortgage assistance for down payment, closing costs, or a financing gap.
From the official source
“0% interest loans up to $45,000 to help with down payment, closing costs, or gaps in financing”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 4, Citywide Program Terms
“Loans are deferred – no payments are due for 20 years (unless home is sold/no longer primary residence)”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 4, Citywide Program Terms
4 of 19
Maximum amount
Up to $45,000.
Maximum assistance: $45,000.
From the official source
“Maximum assistance: $45,000”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Program Descriptions > Homebuyer Assistance Program
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
0% interest. Forgiven after 30 years.
Loans are deferred with no payments due for 20 years unless the home is sold or no longer the borrower's primary residence. If the owner remains in the home for an additional 10 years, for 30 years total, the loan is forgiven.
From the official source
“If owner stays in the home an additional 10 years (30 years total), loan is forgiven”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 4, Citywide Program Terms
“0% interest”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 3, Citywide Program Overview
“Loans are deferred – no payments are due for 20 years (unless home is sold/no longer primary residence)”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 4, Citywide Program Terms
7 of 19
Income limit
The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
The City states that both homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers earning no more than 80 percent of area median income. Current household-size limits shown on the program page are $74,100 for 1 person; $84,700 for 2; $95,300 for 3; $105,850 for 4; $114,350 for 5; $122,800 for 6; $131,300 for 7; and $139,750 for 8.
From the official source
“To qualify, your household income must fall at or below the income limits below (as defined by HUD federal guidelines).”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 1
“$74,100 | $84,700 | $95,300 | $105,850 | $114,350 | $122,800 | $131,300 | $139,750”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 1 income table
“Both of the City’s homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers earning no more than 80 percent of the area median income (see the current income limits in step 1 under “Steps for Buying”).”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Program Descriptions, introductory paragraph
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
Both City homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers.
From the official source
“Both of the City’s homebuyer assistance programs are for first-time homebuyers earning no more than 80 percent of the area median income (see the current income limits in step 1 under “Steps for Buying”).”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Program Descriptions, introductory paragraph
9 of 19
Maximum home price
Official City sources conflict on the citywide program's current purchase-price cap: the service page lists $389,500 in Program Descriptions and $384,750 in Steps for Buying, while the final FY 2026-27 Annual Action Plan states that the 2026 purchase price limit for homebuyer assistance and homeowner rehabilitation programs is $399,000.
From the official source
“Maximum home purchase price: $389,500”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Program Descriptions > Homebuyer Assistance Program
“the purchase price cannot exceed $384,750.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 4
“The purchase price limit for 2026 is $399,000.”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/AAP%20FY%202026-27%20Combined%20(1).pdf · PDF p. 43, Background / 2026 purchase price limit
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, townhome, condo.
From the official source
“The loans are deferred; no payments are due until the home is sold or the owner no longer uses the home as their primary residence.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Apply for Homebuyer Assistance, introductory paragraph
“Eligible Properties • Single-family homes, townhomes, condos • Within City limits”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 3, Citywide Program Overview
11 of 19
Where it applies
Raleigh city.
New or existing single-family homes, townhomes, or condominiums located within the city limits of Raleigh are eligible under the citywide program.
From the official source
“New or existing single-family homes, townhomes, or condominiums located within the city limits of Raleigh are eligible under our programs.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 4
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
The final FY 2026-27 Annual Action Plan budgets CDBG and CDBG Program Income for Homebuyer Assistance through June 30, 2027, but the official sources reviewed do not explicitly state that funds are currently available for new applicants.
Checked 2026-10-02.
From the official source
“Funding CDBG: $1,254,525 + CDBG Program Income: $150,000 = $1,404,525 total”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/AAP%20FY%202026-27%20Combined%20(1).pdf · PDF p. 20, Project 2 Homebuyer Assistance-26/27
“Target Date 6/30/2027”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/AAP%20FY%202026-27%20Combined%20(1).pdf · PDF p. 20, Project 2 Homebuyer Assistance-26/27
“Updated: Sep 4, 2026”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Page metadata and current program page reviewed 2026-10-02
13 of 19
How to apply
Complete the required homebuyer education, then work with an approved lender to obtain mortgage pre-approval. If eligible, the lender applies to the City's Homebuyer Assistance Program on the buyer's behalf.
From the official source
“Visit an approved lender to get pre-approved for a mortgage to buy a home. If you are eligible, your lender will apply to the City’s program on your behalf.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 3
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
The program service page was updated September 4, 2026; the City program overview is dated June 2025; and the final FY 2026-27 Annual Action Plan covers July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027. No program-specific effective date is stated in the official sources reviewed.
From the official source
“Updated: Sep 4, 2026”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Apply for Homebuyer Assistance, page metadata
“June 2025”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 1, cover
“This AAP covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, and is the second year of the City’s 2026-2030 Consolidated Plan.”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/AAP%20FY%202026-27%20Combined%20(1).pdf · PDF p. 18, AP-35 Projects introduction
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
Required.
The City requires a Homeownership Class; the June 2025 program overview states that the course must be taught by a HUD-approved Housing Counselor.
From the official source
“The City requires that you attend a Homeownership Class where you will earn a certificate that allows you to participate in the Homebuyer Assistance Program.”
https://raleighnc.gov/housing/services/homebuyer-assistance · Steps for Buying, step 2
“Course must be taught by a HUD approved Housing Counselor.”
https://cityofraleigh0drupal.blob.core.usgovcloudapi.net/drupal-prod/COR19/City%20of%20Raleigh%20Homebuyer%20Assistance%20June%202025.pdf · PDF p. 8, Steps for Buying
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Assistance
Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer AssistancePiedmont Triad Regional Council
Official sources for Citywide Homebuyer Assistance Program
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Raleigh Housing and Community Development or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 3.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.