NC IDA Matching Funds: Down Payment Help for IDA Savers
Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching FundsAdministered by North Carolina Housing Finance AgencyAssistanceNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Facts verified against the official source
What Are IDA Matching Funds?
Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds is a North Carolina homebuyer program that adds down payment assistance to the money a buyer saves in an IDA. It is run by the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA) through the Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP), gives up to $2,000 as matching funds, and works with FHA, VA, USDA and conventional loans, as well as USDA 502 Direct. It is available through CPLP Members that operate an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program.
The money is a match for the home purchase, not a loan. NCHFA acts as a second match source on top of the local IDA program's own match. You can read more about the parent program on the Community Partners Loan Pool page.
Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds at a glance
- Maximum help
- Up to $2,000.
- Kind of help
- A assistance.
- Interest and forgiveness
- N/A. IDA Matching Funds are matching funds for the home purchase, not a loan; NCHFA's CPLP Assistance Options table lists interest, term, recapture and HOME affordability period as n/a for Option C (IDA Matching Funds).
- Income limit
- Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
- Credit
- For CPLP Option C IDA Matching Funds, NCHFA states “Use 1st Mortgage guidelines” for the minimum credit score and maximum borrower ratios; it does not publish a single IDA-specific minimum credit score.
- Loan types
- FHA, VA, USDA, conventional, USDA 502 Direct.
- Home price limit
- 95% of Area Median Sales Price. NCHFA’s current county-specific 2025 Sales Price Limits are effective 12/1/25 and vary for existing versus newly constructed properties.
- Where
- Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
- Homebuyer education
- Required.
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Down Payment Assistance Do IDA Matching Funds Give?
The NCHFA match is at least $1,000 and at most $2,000. It is a 2:1 match for $500 to $1,000 of your own IDA savings, so each dollar you save draws two dollars from NCHFA.
The local IDA program must also provide an equal or greater match than the NCHFA amount requested. Together the two matches can reach between $2,000 and $4,000. The money can go toward down payment assistance, closing costs, or both.
Who Qualifies for IDA Matching Funds?
The rules come from NCHFA and from the local IDA program that handles your savings.
- Income: household income up to 80% of Area Median Income, adjusted for household size, under the CPLP and SHLP rules.
- IDA savings: you must save through an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program operated by a CPLP Member.
- Credit score and debt ratios: NCHFA says to use the first mortgage guidelines; it does not publish one IDA-specific minimum.
- Occupancy: the home must be your own residence.
- Cash out: no cash out is allowed at closing.
- Timing: all IDA matching funds must be available at closing.
- Homebuyer education: at least 21 hours, covered in its own section below.
The record does not say whether first-time buyer status is required, and local IDA programs may add their own rules. NCHFA and the local program make the final decision.
What Homes Work With IDA Matching Funds?
The program lists single-family homes, one unit at most. The price limit is 95% of the Area Median Sales Price. NCHFA publishes county-specific sales price limits, and they differ for existing homes and newly constructed ones.
What Loans Work With IDA Matching Funds?
The program lists FHA, VA, USDA and conventional loans, plus USDA 502 Direct. On the standard CPLP route, the first mortgage is an NC Home Advantage Mortgage or a USDA 502 Direct loan. See NC Home Advantage Mortgage for that loan.
NCHFA also allows a separate IDA Matching Funds application when the buyer purchases from a Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP) Member. More on that program is on the Self-Help Loan Pool page.
Where Are IDA Matching Funds Available?
There is no fixed map for this program. It is offered through CPLP Members that run an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program, so your access depends on the service area of a participating member. NCHFA's community-partner directory lists counties served, but it does not say which members run IDA programs. To compare options, see North Carolina down payment assistance programs.
Are IDA Matching Funds Available Right Now?
Funding status is unknown. NCHFA's CPLP guidelines say additional funding may be available for IDA Matching Funds and that NCHFA will tell Members about availability during the year. No source reviewed confirms current availability. This was last checked on September 23, 2026. Ask a participating CPLP Member before you plan around it.
Homebuyer Education for IDA Matching Funds
A class is required. You must complete at least 21 hours of financial literacy and homebuyer education through the NCHFA-recognized IDA Program you save with.
How to Apply for IDA Matching Funds
You apply through a CPLP Member that operates an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program. There is no public application link.
If you are buying from a SHLP Member, the CPLP Member must submit a separate IDA Matching Funds application to NCHFA. Contact the participating CPLP Member or its Community Partner Advisor for details. To see which other programs may fit you, try the eligibility check.
Questions about Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
How much do IDA Matching Funds give?
NCHFA gives at least $1,000 and at most $2,000 as a 2:1 match for $500 to $1,000 of your own IDA savings. The local IDA program must add an equal or greater match.
What is the income limit for IDA Matching Funds?
The underlying CPLP and SHLP programs limit buyers to 80% of Area Median Income, adjusted for household size. NCHFA publishes HOME household income limits by county.
Are IDA Matching Funds a loan?
No. They are matching funds for the home purchase, not a loan. NCHFA lists interest, term and recapture as not applicable for this option.
Can repeat buyers use IDA Matching Funds?
The record does not say. It does not state a first-time buyer rule, and NCHFA's parent programs do not require first-time buyer status, but a local IDA program may have its own rules.
Do IDA Matching Funds require homebuyer education?
Yes. You need at least 21 hours of financial literacy and homebuyer education through the NCHFA-recognized IDA Program.
Which loans work with IDA Matching Funds?
The program lists FHA, VA, USDA and conventional loans, plus USDA 502 Direct. On the standard route the first mortgage is an NC Home Advantage Mortgage or a USDA 502 Direct loan.
How do I find a participating CPLP Member for IDA Matching Funds?
NCHFA's community-partner directory lists members by counties served, but it does not mark which ones run an IDA program. Contact NCHFA or a CPLP Member in your area to ask.
Is IDA Matching Funds money available right now?
Funding status is unknown. NCHFA says extra IDA funding may be available and that it will tell Members during the year, but no source confirms it today.
Complete Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 17 stated by the program
- 7 official sources checked from North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
- Last verified October 13, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
From the official source
“Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, heading
2 of 19
Who runs it
North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
919-877-5655
vcmimms@nchfa.com
From the official source
“North Carolina Housing Finance Agency”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Cover
“North Carolina Housing Finance Agency 3508 Bush Street Raleigh, NC 27609-7509”
https://www.nchfa.com/contact-us · Contact Us page, Mailing and Street Address
“Vedera Mimms, Community Partner Advisor 919-877-5655 or vcmimms@nchfa.com”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 75, Appendix 11: CPLP Program Contacts
3 of 19
Kind of help
A assistance.
Matching funds for home purchase; NCHFA/CPLP serves as a second 2:1 match source for a home buyer’s IDA savings used for down payment assistance and/or closing costs.
From the official source
“CPLP Members that operate a NCHFA-recognized IDA Program can also access $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 as a 2ND Match Source for home buyers using their IDA savings for down payment assistance and/or to cover closing costs. NCHFA will provide a 2:1 match for the home buyer’s IDA savings:”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
“Type of Assistance Matching funds to be used for home purchase only”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 28, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
4 of 19
Maximum amount
Up to $2,000.
NCHFA/CPLP match: $1,000 minimum to $2,000 maximum, provided as a 2:1 match for $500 to $1,000 of borrower IDA savings; an equal or greater local match is required.
From the official source
“NCHFA/CPLP Match (2:1) $1,000.00 $2,000.00”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, IDA match table
“Borrower IDA Savings to be matched: MINIMUM $ 500.00 MAXIMUM $1,000.00 NCHFA/CPLP Match (2:1) $1,000.00 $2,000.00 Local Match (2:1): $1,000.00 $2,000.00 TOTAL MATCH $ Available (Local & NCHFA/CPLP): $2,000.00 $4,000.00”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, IDA match table and requirements
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The amount varies by tier.
{"local_match":{"ratio":"2:1","maximum_usd":2000,"minimum_usd":1000},"nchfa_cplp_match":{"ratio":"2:1","maximum_usd":2000,"minimum_usd":1000},"borrower_ida_savings":{"maximum_usd":1000,"minimum_usd":500},"total_match_available":{"maximum_usd":4000,"minimum_usd":2000}}
From the official source
“Borrower IDA Savings to be matched: MINIMUM $ 500.00 MAXIMUM $1,000.00 NCHFA/CPLP Match (2:1) $1,000.00 $2,000.00 Local Match (2:1): $1,000.00 $2,000.00 TOTAL MATCH $ Available (Local & NCHFA/CPLP): $2,000.00 $4,000.00”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, IDA match table
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
N/A. IDA Matching Funds are matching funds for the home purchase, not a loan; NCHFA's CPLP Assistance Options table lists interest, term, recapture and HOME affordability period as n/a for Option C (IDA Matching Funds).
From the official source
“Matching funds to be used for home purchase only Interest 0% 0% n/a”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · page 28, CPLP Assistance Options table, Option C column (Type of Assistance, Interest)
“*Matches term of 1ST mortgage n/a Maximum Sales Price of Home:”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · page 28, CPLP Assistance Options table, Term row (Option C is the last value)
“issue a new loan n/a HOME Affordability Period 5-10 years depending on amount of CPLP assistance 5-10 years depending on amount of CPLP assistance n/a”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · page 29, CPLP Assistance Options table, Recapture and HOME Affordability Period rows (Option C is the last value in each)
7 of 19
Income limit
Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
The underlying CPLP and SHLP programs limit eligible home buyers to 80% of Area Median Income, adjusted for household size. NCHFA’s current table is the 2026 HOME Program Household Income limits effective 6/1/26.
From the official source
“For CPLP, eligible home buyers are those with annual household incomes no more than 80% of the area median income adjusted for household size as determined by HUD.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 17, Eligible Home Buyers
“2026 HOME Program Household income (effective 6/1/26) and 2025 Sales Price Limits (effective 12/1/25 )”
https://nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-06/2026Incomeand2025PropertyLimits-CPLP_SHLP.pdf · Pages 1-2, table heading
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
9 of 19
Maximum home price
95% of Area Median Sales Price. NCHFA’s current county-specific 2025 Sales Price Limits are effective 12/1/25 and vary for existing versus newly constructed properties.
From the official source
“Maximum Sales Price of Home: 95% of Area Median Sales Price”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 28, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family.
The home buyer must use IDA savings through an NCHFA-recognized/pre-approved IDA Program operated by a CPLP Member. The IDA Program Sponsor must provide an equal or greater local match relative to the NCHFA amount requested; no cash out is allowed at closing; and all IDA matching funds must be available at closing. NCHFA also permits a CPLP Member operating an approved IDA Program to request IDA Matching Funds for a buyer purchasing from a SHLP Member through a separate IDA-match application.
From the official source
“All IDA Matching Funds (*from NCHFA and non-NCHFA sources) must be available at CPLP Loan Closing and shown on the HUD-1 Settlement statement and/or Closing Disclosure. • No cash out allowed at closing for home buyers approved for IDA Matching Funds • IDA Program must be pre-approved by NCHFA. The IDA Program must: (1) provide at least 21 hours of financial literacy and home buyer education that the Borrower has completed; and (2) the IDA Program Sponsor must provide an equal or greater local match relative to the amount requested of the Agency.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
“Occupancy Requirements Principal Residency at closing”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 29, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
“Type of Home: New and Existing Single-family homes”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 28, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
11 of 19
Where it applies
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Available through CPLP Members that operate an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program; access therefore depends on the service area of a qualifying participating member. NCHFA’s public community-partner directory is organized by counties served and programs offered, but the reviewed directory does not identify which CPLP Members currently operate NCHFA-recognized IDA Programs.
From the official source
“CPLP Members that operate a NCHFA-recognized IDA Program can also access $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 as a 2ND Match Source for home buyers using their IDA savings for down payment assistance and/or to cover closing costs.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
“Filter community partners by counties served and programs offered”
https://www.nchfa.com/current-community-partners · Current Community Partners page, filter heading
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
The January 2026 CPLP guidelines state: “Additional funding may also be available for IDA Matching Funds. NCHFA will communicate with Members about funding availability throughout the calendar year.” No reviewed official source explicitly confirms that IDA Matching Funds are currently available on the research date.
Checked 2026-09-23.
From the official source
“Additional funding may also be available for IDA Matching Funds. NCHFA will communicate with Members about funding availability throughout the calendar year.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 6, Program Funding
13 of 19
How to apply
A home buyer must work through a CPLP Member that operates an NCHFA-recognized IDA Program. For a buyer purchasing from a SHLP Member, NCHFA states that the CPLP Member must submit a separate application for IDA Matching Funds; borrowers should contact the participating CPLP Member or the assigned Community Partner Advisor for additional information.
From the official source
“NCHFA can be a secondary source of match funds for home buyers that use their IDA savings to help purchase a home from a SHLP Member. However, the CPLP Member must submit a separate application for IDA Matching funds.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-02/SHLPParticipationGuidelines.pdf · Page 28, Additional Financing: Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
“Interested home buyers must contact a local CPLP member for further assistance. If the Member determines the borrower is potentially eligible and the home to be purchased meets program guidelines, they will apply for CPLP assistance on behalf of the home buyer(s). Please note that the Agency will only accept applications submitted by a CPLP Member.”
https://www.nchfa.com/home-ownership-partners/community-partners/community-programs/community-partners-loan-pool · Web page, Applying for CPLP Assistance
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
Current CPLP Participation Guidelines: updated January 2026. Current SHLP Participation Guidelines: updated February 2026. Current HOME household income limits: effective 6/1/26. Current sales price limits: effective 12/1/25. The reviewed official sources do not state a separate effective date for IDA Matching Funds.
From the official source
“Updated: January 2026”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Cover
“Updated: February 2026”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-02/SHLPParticipationGuidelines.pdf · Cover
“2026 HOME Program Household income (effective 6/1/26) and 2025 Sales Price Limits (effective 12/1/25 )”
https://nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-06/2026Incomeand2025PropertyLimits-CPLP_SHLP.pdf · Pages 1-2, table heading
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
For CPLP Option C IDA Matching Funds, NCHFA states “Use 1st Mortgage guidelines” for the minimum credit score and maximum borrower ratios; it does not publish a single IDA-specific minimum credit score.
From the official source
“Minimum Credit Score Use 1st Mortgage guidelines”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 29, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
FHA, VA, USDA, conventional, USDA 502 Direct.
For the standard CPLP Option C route, the first mortgage product is NC Home Advantage Mortgage™ or USDA 502 Direct loan. NCHFA also permits a separate IDA Matching Funds application when the buyer purchases a home from a SHLP Member.
From the official source
“NCHFA’s NC Home Advantage Mortgage™ (FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional) USDA 502 Direct Loans”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 26, CPLP Financing Availability & First Mortgage Requirements
“1ST Mortgage Product NC Home Advantage™ or USDA 502 Direct loan”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 28, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
“CPLP Members that operate an NCHFA-approved IDA Program may also access IDA Matching funds to assist a home buyer who purchases a home from a Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP) Member.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, IDA Matching Funds note
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
Required.
Minimum 21 hours of financial literacy and home buyer education completed by the borrower through the NCHFA-recognized/pre-approved IDA Program.
From the official source
“Home Buyer Education & Counseling Requirement Min. 21 hours of financial and home buyer education”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 29, CPLP Assistance Options, Option C
“IDA Program must be pre-approved by NCHFA. The IDA Program must: (1) provide at least 21 hours of financial literacy and home buyer education that the Borrower has completed; and (2) the IDA Program Sponsor must provide an equal or greater local match relative to the amount requested of the Agency.”
https://www.nchfa.com/sites/default/files/2026-01/21/CPLPGuidelines.pdf · Page 31, Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Assistance
Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer AssistancePiedmont Triad Regional Council
Official sources for Individual Development Account (IDA) Matching Funds
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →- Official document (PDF)
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency: Program guidelines (PDF)
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency: Official document (PDF)
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency: Program page
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency: Official document
- North Carolina Housing Finance Agency: Official document
Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with North Carolina Housing Finance Agency or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 2.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.