House Charlotte: Down Payment Help & Eligibility
House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance ProgramAdministered by DreamKey PartnersDeferred loanNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source
What Is House Charlotte?
House Charlotte is a North Carolina homebuyer program for the City of Charlotte that provides down payment assistance of up to $80,000, administered by DreamKey Partners on the City's behalf. The assistance can go toward a down payment, closing costs, an interest rate buy-down, or principal reduction on a home you plan to buy and live in within Charlotte city limits.
House Charlotte funds two tiers based on household income, and the assistance comes as a deferred loan with a 0% interest rate rather than a grant.
House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program at a glance
- Maximum help
- Up to $80,000.
- Kind of help
- A deferred loan.
- Interest and forgiveness
- 0% interest. Forgiven after 31 years.
- Income limit
- The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
- First-time buyers only?
- Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
- Home price limit
- Homes priced up to $365,000.
- Where
- Charlotte city.
- Homebuyer education
- Required.
- Liquid asset limit
- Under $40,000, not counting retirement accounts such as a 401(k) or IRA
- Property condition
- Existing homes must pass a House Charlotte inspection; new construction under six months old needs a certificate of occupancy
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- DreamKey Partners
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Down Payment Assistance Does House Charlotte Give?
House Charlotte funds two tiers by household income. Program 1A, for households at or below 80% of the area median income, provides a base amount up to $30,000 plus an additional match up to $50,000, for a combined maximum of $80,000. Program 1B, for households between 80.01% and 110% of the area median income, provides a base amount up to $10,000 plus a match up to $20,000, for a combined maximum of $30,000. City of Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools employees who qualify for Program 1B can receive up to $30,000 without the match requirement. Every award is a 30-year, 0% interest loan that is forgiven at year 31.
If you're also weighing a first mortgage, NC Home Advantage Mortgage is another North Carolina program worth comparing.
Who Qualifies for House Charlotte?
House Charlotte sets income, buyer history, occupancy, and property rules for anyone applying.
- Income: Household income cannot exceed 110% of the area median income; which tier you fall into (Program 1A or 1B) depends on whether you're at or below 80% AMI or between 80.01% and 110% AMI.
- First-time or repeat buyers: First-time buyers only. You cannot have owned property within the past three years or hold ownership interest in land or a deeded timeshare.
- Occupancy: You must purchase the home as your primary residence.
- Property types: The home must be within Charlotte city limits. Tenant-occupied properties and properties being sold as-is are not eligible. Existing homes must pass a House Charlotte inspection, and new construction under six months old needs a certificate of occupancy.
- Assets: Liquid assets, not counting retirement accounts such as a 401(k) or IRA, are limited to $40,000.
The lender decides who ultimately qualifies for a loan.
Is House Charlotte a Grant or a Loan?
House Charlotte provides its assistance as a deferred loan, not a grant. The loan carries a 0% interest rate, and you make no monthly payments toward it for as long as you own and live in the home.
Do You Have to Pay House Charlotte Back?
The loan has a 30-year term and is forgiven at year 31 if you keep meeting the program's terms. The City records recapture deed restrictions and holds a first right of refusal on the property, which can come into play if you sell or transfer the home before the loan is forgiven.
Where Is House Charlotte Available?
House Charlotte is available to buyers purchasing in any City of Charlotte neighborhood profile area. Homes outside city limits, including unincorporated Mecklenburg County, are not eligible.
How to Apply for House Charlotte
You apply through a House Charlotte-approved lender, who submits your assistance request on your behalf; City of Charlotte assistance can only be requested this way. Before closing, you'll also need to complete at least 8 hours of pre-purchase counseling and homebuyer education through DreamKey Partners or another HUD-approved counseling agency. Online education counts only from eHome or Framework, and it must include one-on-one or face-to-face counseling.
See how House Charlotte compares to other North Carolina down payment assistance programs, or find programs that may fit you.
House Charlotte Example: First-Time Buyer at 80% AMI in Charlotte
A first-time buyer household of four in Charlotte earns $85,000 a year and is buying a $355,000 home, close to the program's purchase price limit. Because their income falls at or below 80% of the area median income, they'd apply under Program 1A.
Illustration only
- Where
- Charlotte city, Mecklenburg County
- Household
- 4 people
- Income
- $85,000 a year
- Home price
- $355,000
About $80,000the program's maximum
May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.
- Where: Covers their city or town.
- Property: A single-family home.
- Income: Within the program's limit of $129,150 for a household of 4.
- First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
- Home price: Within the maximum of $365,000.
- Who it is for: Open to anyone.
- Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.
An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.
House Charlotte Example: First-Time Buyer Between 80% and 110% AMI in Charlotte
A first-time buyer household of three in Charlotte earns $100,000 a year and is buying a home within the city limits. Their income falls between 80.01% and 110% of the area median income, so they'd apply under Program 1B.
Illustration only
- Where
- Charlotte city, Mecklenburg County
- Household
- 3 people
- Income
- $100,000 a year
- Home price
- $250,000
About $80,000the program's maximum
May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.
- Where: Covers their city or town.
- Property: A single-family home.
- Income: Within the program's limit of $116,250 for a household of 3.
- First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
- Home price: Within the maximum of $365,000.
- Who it is for: Open to anyone.
- Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.
An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.
Questions about House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program
What is the income limit for House Charlotte?
Household income cannot exceed 110% of the area median income (AMI) for your household size. Households at or below 80% AMI apply under Program 1A, and households between 80.01% and 110% AMI apply under Program 1B.
How much down payment assistance does House Charlotte give?
Program 1A gives up to $80,000 combined (a $30,000 base plus a $50,000 match), and Program 1B gives up to $30,000 combined (a $10,000 base plus a $20,000 match); some City of Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, and CMS employees can get the Program 1B amount without the match.
Can repeat buyers use House Charlotte?
No, House Charlotte is limited to first-time buyers, meaning you cannot have owned property within the past three years or hold ownership interest in land or a deeded timeshare.
Does House Charlotte pay closing costs?
Yes, House Charlotte assistance can be used for closing costs as well as the down payment, an interest rate buy-down, or principal reduction.
Is House Charlotte available outside Charlotte city limits?
No, House Charlotte is only available for homes within Charlotte city limits; unincorporated areas of Mecklenburg County are not eligible.
What is the maximum home price for House Charlotte?
The maximum purchase price is $365,000 for both existing and new construction properties.
Is House Charlotte forgiven, or do I have to pay it back?
The assistance is a deferred loan that is forgiven at year 31 if you keep meeting the program's terms; in the meantime, the City records recapture deed restrictions and a first right of refusal on the property.
How do I find a House Charlotte-approved lender?
Your lender submits the House Charlotte request on your behalf, so start with a House Charlotte-approved lender; DreamKey Partners can help at 704-705-3999 or HouseCharlotte@dkp.org.
Complete House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 16 stated by the program
- 6 official sources checked from DreamKey Partners, DreamKey Partners / City of Charlotte, City of Charlotte Housing & Neighborhood Services, City of Charlotte
- Last verified October 6, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program
From the official source
“House Charlotte”
https://www.charlottenc.gov/Streets-and-Neighborhoods/Housing/Resources-for-Homeowners-Renters/Homeownership · web page, House Charlotte heading
2 of 19
Who runs it
DreamKey Partners
704-705-3999
HouseCharlotte@dkp.org
From the official source
“House Charlotte is a program from the City of Charlotte, administered by DreamKey Partners, designed to help make homeownership more within reach.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/house-charlotte · web page, Real Support for Your Homebuying Journey
“House Charlotte is a program offered by the City of Charlotte and administered by DreamKey Partners.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/house-charlotte · web page, House Charlotte program page
“For additional information, please call House Charlotte at 704-705-3999 or send an email to HouseCharlotte@dkp.org.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 3, final paragraph
3 of 19
Kind of help
A deferred loan.
Assistance may be used for down payment, closing costs, interest rate buy down, and principal reduction.
From the official source
“This assistance can be used in combination for down payment, closing cost, interest rate buy down and principal reduction.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, introductory sentence
“It provides 0% deferred loans to help eligible first-time homebuyers purchase a home within Charlotte city limits.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/For%20Lenders/House%20Charlotte%20For%20Lenders.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Loan Guidelines
4 of 19
Maximum amount
Up to $80,000.
Program 1A: base up to $30,000 plus additional match up to $50,000; Program 1B: base up to $10,000 plus additional match up to $20,000; Program 1B Exemption for City of Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, and CMS employees: up to $30,000 with no match required.
From the official source
“Base Up to $30,000 Additional Match up to $50,000”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Program 1A amount and term
“Program 1A For families at or below 80% of median income $93,900* Base Up to $30,000 Additional Match up to $50,000 30-year term ~Forgivable at year 31”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Down Payment Amount & Term table
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The amount varies by tier.
{"program_1a":{"income":"at or below 80% AMI","max_usd":80000,"base_usd":30000,"term_years":30,"forgivable_at_year":31,"additional_match_usd":50000},"program_1b":{"income":"80.01%-110% AMI","max_usd":30000,"base_usd":10000,"term_years":30,"forgivable_at_year":31,"additional_match_usd":20000},"program_1b_exemption":{"groups":"City of Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, & CMS Employees","income":"80.01%-110% AMI","max_usd":30000,"term_years":30,"match_required":false,"forgivable_at_year":31}}
From the official source
“Program 1B For families at 80.01-110% of median income $129,150* Base Up to $10,000 Additional Match up to $20,000 30-year term ~Forgivable at year 31”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, program allocation table
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
0% interest. Forgiven after 31 years.
30-year term; no monthly payments on the assistance; forgivable at year 31. Recapture deed restrictions and first right of refusal are recorded.
From the official source
“Loan term 30 years forgivable at year 31”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 2, “What are the terms, rate, and restrictions”
“Interest rate 0%”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 2, “What are the terms, rate, and restrictions”
“Loan term 30 years forgivable at year 31 Affordability period 30 years -Recapture deed restrictions -First right of refusal will be recorded”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 2, loan terms table
7 of 19
Income limit
The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
Household income cannot exceed 110% AMI. 2026 maximums at 110% AMI by family size 1-8 are $90,400; $103,400; $116,250; $129,150; $139,500; $149,800; $160,150; $170,500. Program 1A applies at or below 80% AMI; Program 1B applies above 80% through 110% AMI.
From the official source
“AMI Matrix - Effective June 1, 2026 FAMILY SIZE % OF INCOME 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/AMI%20Affordability%20%20Income%20Limits%20June%201%202026-House%20Charlotte.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, 2026 HouseCharlotte AMI Matrix
“110% $90,400 $103,400 $116,250 $129,150 $139,500 $149,800 $160,150 $170,500”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/AMI%20Affordability%20%20Income%20Limits%20June%201%202026-House%20Charlotte.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, 110% row
“To qualify for House Charlotte funds, the household income cannot exceed 110% of the Area’s Median Income (AMI).”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, income qualification FAQ
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
Yes; the buyer cannot have owned property within the past three years and cannot have ownership interest in land or deeded timeshares.
From the official source
“Yes, you cannot have owned property within the past three (3) years, and in addition, cannot have ownership interest in land nor deeded timeshares.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 2, first-time home buyer FAQ
9 of 19
Maximum home price
Homes priced up to $365,000.
Maximum purchase price of $365,000 for existing and new construction properties.
From the official source
“Maximum purchase price of $365,000 for existing & new construction properties.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, maximum purchase price FAQ
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
You must live in the home as your primary residence.
Property must be within Charlotte city limits. Tenant-occupied properties and properties sold as-is are not eligible. Existing properties must pass a House Charlotte inspection; new construction under six months old requires a Certificate of Occupancy. Liquid asset limit is $40,000, excluding long-term retirement savings such as 401(k) and IRA accounts.
From the official source
“You’ll need to purchase a home within Charlotte city limits, use it as your primary residence, and stay within the $365,000 purchase price limit.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/house-charlotte · web page, eligibility paragraph
11 of 19
Where it applies
Charlotte city.
All City of Charlotte neighborhood profile areas; unincorporated areas are not eligible.
From the official source
“All City of Charlotte neighborhood profile areas”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Eligible Neighborhoods
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Official program page states “Limited Funding. Plan Ahead.” Official lender guidance states all loans are subject to funding availability, reservations are first-come, first-served with a maximum of 20 per month, and funding is not guaranteed until formally reserved. No official source reviewed affirmatively states that funds are currently available.
Checked 2026-10-05.
From the official source
“All loans are subject to funding availability”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/For%20Lenders/House%20Charlotte%20For%20Lenders.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Key program guidelines
“Reservations are issued on a first-come, first-served basis (max 20 per month)”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/For%20Lenders/House%20Charlotte%20For%20Lenders.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, Key program guidelines and Submission Expectations
“Limited Funding. Plan Ahead.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/house-charlotte · current program page checked 2026-10-05, Real Support for Your Homebuying Journey
13 of 19
How to apply
Use a House Charlotte-approved lender. The lender submits the assistance request on the buyer's behalf; City assistance must be requested through House Charlotte-approved lenders.
From the official source
“Your Lender will submit the request on your behalf and you must use a House Charlotte approved lender.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, application FAQ
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
In effect since 2026-06-29.
Program overview revised June 29, 2026; FAQ revised June 2026; 2026 AMI Matrix effective June 1, 2026.
From the official source
“Rev 6.29.2026”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Overview-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, revision line
“AMI Matrix - Effective June 1, 2026”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/AMI%20Affordability%20%20Income%20Limits%20June%201%202026-House%20Charlotte.pdf?hsLang=en · page 1, heading
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
Required.
Before closing, borrowers must complete at least 8 hours total of pre-purchase counseling and homebuyer education through DreamKey Partners or another HUD-approved counseling agency. Online education is accepted from E-Home and Framework only and must include one-on-one/face-to-face counseling.
From the official source
“Pre-Purchase Counseling & Homebuyer Education must total a minimum of 8 hours”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 3, education FAQ
“Online Education is accepted from E-Home & Framework ONLY. Generally 4 hours credit is given for online education. 1-on-1/Face-to-face Counseling must be included with online education also.”
https://dreamkeypartners.org/hubfs/Documents/House%20Charlotte/House%20Charlotte%20Program%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions-1.pdf?hsLang=en · page 3, education FAQ
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Assistance
Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer AssistancePiedmont Triad Regional Council
Official sources for House Charlotte Down Payment Assistance Program
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with DreamKey Partners or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 3.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.