DownPaymentMap

Greenville NC Down Payment Assistance: No-Interest Loan

Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance ProgramAdministered by City of Greenville Community Development DivisionRepayable loanNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Facts verified against the official source

What Is the Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program?

The Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that provides down payment assistance as a secured loan of up to 10% of the sales price, capped at $29,000. It is run by the City of Greenville Community Development Division and applies to homes inside the incorporated city limits of Greenville.

The loan carries 0% interest and is repaid over 120 months, so it works as a no-interest second loan rather than a grant.

Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program at a glance

Maximum help
Up to 10% of the purchase price, capped at $29,000.
Kind of help
A repayable loan.
Interest and forgiveness
0% interest.
Income limit
The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
First-time buyers only?
Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
Credit
Reportable credit references must show active accounts current; no outstanding non-medical liens, judgments or collections; no outstanding charge-off balance unless on an approved payment plan with six-month positive history; Chapter 7 bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months; Chapter 13 requires written trustee permission to acquire new debt. Non-traditional credit references are accepted from utilities, telephone, cable and insurance providers.
Home price limit
Homes priced up to $290,000.
Where
Greenville city.
Homebuyer education
Required.
Debt-to-income limit
Back-end ratio of 45%; front-end 20%-33%
Buyer contribution
Minimum homeowner investment of $1,000
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
City of Greenville Community Development Division

What that could look like in dollars

Home priceUp to
$200,000$20,000
$250,000$25,000

Illustration only. Up to 10% of the purchase price, capped at $29,000, on homes priced up to $290,000. The administrator decides the actual amount.

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Down Payment Assistance Does Greenville's 10% Loan Give?

The loan equals up to 10% of the sales price, with a different cap depending on the kind of home. For an existing home the cap is $24,200. For new construction the cap is $29,000.

The price limits follow the same split: $242,000 for an existing home and $290,000 for new construction.

Who Qualifies for the Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan?

These are the program's rules as the City states them:

  • Income: Maximum income is 120% of median, adjusted for household size. The City publishes a chart of 120% limits by household size.
  • First-time buyers: Required. The City defines it as not having owned a home in the past three years, so some past owners may fit.
  • Credit: Reportable credit references must show active accounts current, with no outstanding non-medical liens, judgments or collections. Rules apply to charge-offs and bankruptcy, and non-traditional references from utilities, telephone, cable and insurance providers are accepted.
  • Debt ratios: The City's criteria call for a front-end ratio of 20%-33% and a back-end ratio of 45%.
  • Your own money: A minimum homeowner investment of $1,000.
  • Property types: Single-family, townhome or condo, one unit.
  • Occupancy: The home must be your residence.
  • Homebuyer education: Complete a homeownership education program and present the certificate.

The City decides who qualifies.

Is Greenville's 10% Loan a Grant or a Loan?

It is a loan, not a grant. The assistance is a secured loan that is amortized for 120 months at 0% interest, so you make payments on it rather than having it forgiven.

Where Does the Greenville 10% Loan Apply?

Only to homes within the incorporated city limits of Greenville. A home outside the city limits does not fit the program, even if it has a Greenville mailing address, so confirm the address with the Community Development Division. For programs elsewhere, see other North Carolina down payment assistance programs.

Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyDurham CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMcDowell CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanly CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey County
Covers the city of Greenville. Where the program applies, from its approved record.

How to Apply for Greenville's 10% Affordable Housing Loan

Get pre-qualified with a lending institution first and ask for the lender's Good Faith Estimate. Then call the Community Development Division at 252-329-4481 to schedule a down payment assistance intake appointment.

The City publishes the flyer, criteria and application links and offers intake appointments, but no official source reviewed states that funds are available now. Funding status was last checked on October 5, 2026 as unknown, so ask when you call. To see which programs may fit your situation, try the eligibility check.

Greenville 10% Loan Example: Repeat Buyer in Pitt County

A household of three that last owned a home more than three years ago earns $78,000 a year and finds an existing home in Greenville for $215,000.

Illustration only

Where
Greenville city, Pitt County
Household
3 people
Income
$78,000 a year
Home price
$215,000

About $21,50010% of the purchase price

Does not fit on the rules below, checked against the current record.

  • Where: Covers their city or town.
  • Property: Single-family homes.
  • Income: Within the program's limit of $91,500 for a household of 3.
  • First-time buyer: First-time buyers only, and they own a home now.
  • Home price: Within the maximum of $290,000.
  • Who it is for: Open to anyone.
  • Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.

An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.

Questions about Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program

What is the income limit for Greenville's 10% Affordable Housing Loan?

Maximum income is 120% of median, adjusted for household size. The City links a chart of 120% limits by household size, based on 2025 figures.

How much does Greenville's 10% Affordable Housing Loan give?

Up to 10% of the sales price, capped at $24,200 for an existing home and $29,000 for new construction.

Can repeat buyers use Greenville's 10% Affordable Housing Loan?

Possibly. First-time homebuyer means not having owned a home in the past three years, so someone who owned earlier than that may still fit.

Is the Greenville 10% loan a grant or a loan?

A loan. It is a secured loan amortized for 120 months at 0% interest.

Is the Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan available outside city limits?

No. It applies only to homes within the incorporated city limits of Greenville.

What is the maximum home price for Greenville's 10% loan?

$242,000 for an existing home and $290,000 for new construction.

Do you need homebuyer education for the Greenville 10% loan?

Yes. You must complete a homeownership education program and present a certificate of completion.

Complete Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 17 stated by the program
  • 5 official sources checked from City of Greenville
  • Last verified October 13, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    City of Greenville Community Development Division

    252-329-4481

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A repayable loan.

    Down payment assistance to purchase an eligible home within the incorporated city limits of Greenville.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    Up to 10% of the purchase price, capped at $29,000.

    Assistance is a secured loan equal to up to 10% of the sales price, capped at $24,200 for an existing home and $29,000 for new construction.

    From the official source
  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The amount varies by tier.

    {"existing_home":{"max_assistance_usd":24200,"max_sales_price_usd":242000},"new_construction":{"max_assistance_usd":29000,"max_sales_price_usd":290000}}

    From the official source
    • “With a cap of $24,200 on an existing home and a cap of $29,000 on new construction. Maximum sales price $242,000 for existing homes, $290,000 for new construction”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1306 · p. 1, program description and Program Guidelines Overview

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    0% interest.

    Secured loan amortized for 120 months at 0% interest.

    From the official source
  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.

    Maximum income is 120% of median adjusted for household size. The City’s linked 2025 income chart lists 120% limits by household size.

    From the official source
    • “For Downpayment Assistance Program (10% No Interest Loan) (maximum income is 120% of median adjusted for household size)”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1309 · Income Limits

    • “50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 120% 28,750 34,500 41,550 46,000 53,400 59,300 71,200”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1305 · 2025 HUD Income Chart, column headings and first row (120% is the last column)

    • “50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 120% 28,750 34,500 41,550 46,000 53,400 59,300 71,200 32,850 39,420 47,500 52,600 61,050 67,800 81,400 36,950 44,340 53,400 59,150 68,650 76,250 91,500 41,050 49,260 59,300 65,700 76,250 84,700 101,650 44,350 53,220 64,050 71,000 82,350 91,500 109,800 47,650 57,180 68,850 76,250 88,500 98,300 118,000 50,950 61,140 73,550 81,500 94,550 105,050 126,100 54,200 65,040 78,300 86,750 100,700 111,850 134,250 66,710 80,052 96,390 106,750 123,900 137,620 165,200 70,522 84,626 101,898 112,850 130,980 145,484 174,640”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1305 · 2025 HUD Income Chart, 50%-120% columns; rows are household sizes 1-10 in order, 120% is the last value of each row

    • “Household Size 30% 1 17,300 2 19,750 3 22,200 4 24,650 5 26,650 6 28,600 7 30,600 8 32,550 9 40,040 10 42,328”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1305 · 2025 HUD Income Chart, Household Size and 30% column

    • “Income Limits – as defined by the US Department of Housing and Urban Development for the Greenville Metropolitan Area. - For Downpayment Assistance Program (10% No Interest Loan) (maximum income is 120% of median adjusted for household size)”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1309 · p. 1, Income Limits

  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.

    First-time homebuyer means not having owned a home in the past three years.

    From the official source
  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    Homes priced up to $290,000.

    Maximum sales price is $242,000 for existing homes and $290,000 for new construction.

    From the official source
  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, townhome, condo.

    Minimum homeowner investment is $1,000. Applicant must be pre-qualified with a lending institution before applying and provide the lender’s Good Faith Estimate. City criteria require front-end debt ratio of 20%-33% and back-end ratio of 45%, subject to the listed credit standards.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Greenville city.

    Within the incorporated city limits of Greenville.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    The City currently publishes the program flyer, criteria and application links and offers intake appointments, but no official source reviewed explicitly states that program funds are currently available.

    Checked 2026-10-05.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    Pre-qualify with a lending institution before applying, provide the lender’s Good Faith Estimate, and contact the Community Development Division at 252-329-4481 to schedule a Down Payment Assistance intake appointment.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    The City's linked 2025 HUD income chart (City of Greenville/Pitt County CDBG/HOME Income Limits 2025) states CDBG and HOME effective 6/2/2025.

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    Reportable credit references must show active accounts current; no outstanding non-medical liens, judgments or collections; no outstanding charge-off balance unless on an approved payment plan with six-month positive history; Chapter 7 bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months; Chapter 13 requires written trustee permission to acquire new debt. Non-traditional credit references are accepted from utilities, telephone, cable and insurance providers.

    From the official source
    • “Reportable Credit References: - Active accounts current - No outstanding non-medical liens, judgments or collections - No outstanding balance due on charge-off accounts unless on approved payment plan (6-month positive payment history) - Chapter 7 Bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months - Chapter 13 Bankruptcy must have written permission of Trustee to acquire new debt”

      https://www.greenvillenc.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1309 · p. 2, Credit

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Required.

    Applicant must complete a homeownership education program and present a certificate of completion.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Greenville 10% Affordable Housing Loan Assistance Program

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Greenville Community Development Division or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 5.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.