DownPaymentMap

Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance: Down Payment Help in City

City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance ProgramAdministered by City of Goldsboro Community Relations and Development DepartmentForgivable loanNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source

What Is the City of Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program?

City of Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program is a North Carolina program that gives the buyer of a home down payment assistance and closing cost help as a 0% deferred second mortgage of up to $10,000. It is run by the City of Goldsboro Community Relations and Development Department and works alongside a fixed-rate conventional, FNMA, FHA or VA first mortgage on a single-family home inside Goldsboro city limits.

The money can also go toward principal reduction, which lowers the amount you need to borrow. The loan is forgiven if you stay in the home for the full affordability period. If you are comparing options, compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs.

City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program at a glance

Maximum help
Up to $10,000.
Kind of help
A forgivable loan.
Interest and forgiveness
0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.
Income limit
The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
Credit
No outstanding judgments. Medical and non-medical collections totaling $1,000 or more and charge-off balances of $1,000 or more must be on an approved written payment plan with a positive 6-month payment history. Chapter 7 bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months; Chapter 13 requires written permission of the Trustee to acquire new debt. No minimum credit score is stated in the current materials reviewed.
Loan types
conventional, FNMA, FHA, VA.
Where
Goldsboro city.
Net worth limit
Not more than $20,000
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
City of Goldsboro Community Relations and Development Department

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Down Payment Assistance Does Goldsboro Give?

The city's assistance is a deferred loan of up to $10,000 and not less than $1,000. Households at or below 80% of the area median income may receive up to the $10,000 maximum. The city's policy says the amount is set according to financial need, so it is not a flat award for everyone.

The funds can cover down payment costs, closing costs and principal reduction to make the home more affordable.

Who Qualifies for the Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program?

The program is meant for low-to-moderate income households buying a home in the city. These are the rules the city states:

  • Income: Family income can be no more than 80% of the area median family income for your family size.
  • Pre-qualification: You must first be pre-qualified with a primary lender.
  • Location: The home must be inside Goldsboro city limits.
  • Occupancy: You must live in the home as your principal residence.
  • Property type: A single-family home, bought or newly built.
  • Other real estate: You can have no primary ownership or interest in other residential real estate.
  • Residency: You must be a current U.S. citizen or legal alien when you apply.
  • Credit: No outstanding judgments. Collections and charge-offs of $1,000 or more need an approved written payment plan with a positive 6-month payment history. No minimum credit score is stated.
  • Bankruptcy: Chapter 7 must be discharged for 24 months. Chapter 13 needs the trustee's written permission to take on new debt.
  • Net worth: Not more than $20,000.

Only the City of Goldsboro decides who qualifies.

Is Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance a Grant or a Loan?

It is a forgivable loan. The city provides it as a 0% deferred second mortgage, so no interest builds up during the affordability period.

The loan is deferred, which means the record does not describe monthly payments on it while you own and live in the home.

Do You Have to Pay Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Back?

Not if you meet the occupancy rules. For assistance under $15,000, the loan is reduced 20% each year while you own the home and live in it as your primary residence. Full forgiveness happens only if you occupy and keep the property for the whole affordability period, which is 5 years for this amount.

Refinancing to take cash or equity out triggers repayment of the remaining assistance. The city may consider a rate and term refinance for subordination.

What Loans Work With Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance?

The assistance must be used together with a fixed-rate first mortgage of 15 to 30 years. The city lists conventional, FNMA, FHA and VA loans. You need to be pre-qualified with a primary lender before you apply for the assistance.

Where Is Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Available?

The home you buy must be inside the city limits of Goldsboro. Homes outside the city are not covered, even elsewhere in the county.

Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyDurham CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMcDowell CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanly CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey County
Covers the city of Goldsboro. Where the program applies, from its approved record.

How to Apply for Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance

Start by getting pre-qualified with a primary lender. Then contact the City of Goldsboro Community Relations Department at (919) 580-4359 or (919) 580-4318, or email JWilson@goldsboronc.gov or KMFuller@goldsboronc.gov, to receive an application.

The official sources reviewed do not say whether funds are open to new applicants right now. Funding status is listed as unknown as of September 26, 2026, so ask the city before you plan around it. To see which other programs may fit you, try the program quiz.

Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Example: Household of Three in Wayne County

A household of three with a yearly income of $48,000 is buying a $150,000 single-family home inside Goldsboro with an FHA loan. Here is how the city's assistance could work for them.

Illustration only

Where
Goldsboro city, Wayne County
Household
3 people
Income
$48,000 a year
Home price
$150,000

About $10,000the program's maximum

May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.

  • Where: Covers their city or town.
  • Property: Single-family homes.
  • Income: Within the program's limit of $55,000 for a household of 3.
  • First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
  • Home price: No maximum home price is stated.
  • Who it is for: Open to anyone.
  • Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.

An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.

Questions about City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program

What is the income limit for the Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program?

Family income cannot exceed 80% of the area median family income for your family size. The city's quick facts sheet posts a table of limits by household size, based on HUD figures effective June 1, 2025. Ask the city whether a newer table applies.

How much does the Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program give?

Up to $10,000, and not less than $1,000, as a 0% deferred loan. Households at or below 80% of area median income may receive up to the $10,000 maximum, and the amount depends on financial need.

Can repeat buyers use the Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program?

The city does not state a first-time buyer requirement. It does require that you have no primary ownership or interest in other residential real estate, so ask the city how that applies if you own or have owned a home.

Is the Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance Program forgiven?

Yes, if you meet the occupancy rules. For assistance under $15,000 the loan is reduced 20% each year while you own and live in the home, and it is fully forgiven after the 5-year affordability period.

Does Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance help with closing costs?

Yes. The program provides down payment and closing cost assistance, and the funds can also go toward principal reduction to make the home more affordable.

What credit score do you need for Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance?

No minimum credit score is stated in the city's current materials. The city does require no outstanding judgments, a written payment plan for larger collections and charge-offs, and set rules for bankruptcy.

Does Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance work with FHA or VA loans?

Yes. It must be paired with a fixed-rate, 15- to 30-year conventional, FNMA, FHA or VA first mortgage.

Can you use Goldsboro Homebuyer Assistance outside the city limits?

No. The home you buy must be within the city limits of Goldsboro.

Complete City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 14 stated by the program
  • 6 official sources checked from City of Goldsboro
  • Last verified October 13, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    City of Goldsboro Community Relations and Development Department

    (919) 580-4359

    JWilson@goldsboronc.gov

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A forgivable loan.

    Down payment and closing cost assistance and principal reduction, provided as a zero-interest deferred second mortgage loan that is reduced pro rata and fully forgiven after the required affordability period if occupancy requirements are met.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    Up to $10,000.

    Maximum assistance: $10,000, provided as a zero-interest deferred loan for down payment and closing costs or a gap in financing.

    From the official source
  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.

    For assistance under $15,000, the deferred second mortgage is reduced 20% annually while the homeowner owns and occupies the home as the primary residence; full forgiveness occurs after the required affordability period. Refinancing with cash/equity out triggers repayment of the remaining assistance; qualifying rate/term refinances may be considered for subordination.

    From the official source
    • “If the total HOME investment direct subsidy (recapture) in the unit is: Under $15,000 The period of affordability is: 5 years ... Repayment of the Homebuyer assistance deferred second mortgage loan is on a pro rata reduction basis, 20 percent annually for a deferred loan less than $15,000 ... Forgiveness of the full amount of assistance will only occur if the homeowner occupies and retains the property for the full affordability period.”

      https://www.goldsboronc.gov/wp-content/uploads/Agenda-Packet-2-12-24-REVISED-Complete-reduced.pdf · Homebuyer Assistance Program policy, page 4, Affordability Period and Repayment

    • “Our homebuyer assistance program offer zero-interest loans to help with down payment and closing costs or a gap in financing.”

      https://www.goldsboronc.gov/service/home_buyer_assistance · Home Buyer Assistance, opening paragraph

    • “Repayment of the Homebuyer assistance deferred second mortgage loan is on a pro rata reduction basis, 20 percent annually for a deferred loan less than $15,000 and 10 percent annually for a deferred loan $15,000-$40,000 if the homeowner owns and occupies the house as the primary residence for the required affordability period. Forgiveness of the full amount of assistance will only occur if the homeowner occupies and retains the property for the full affordability period. No interest shall accumulate on this loan during the affordability period.”

      https://www.goldsboronc.gov/wp-content/uploads/Agenda-Packet-2-12-24-REVISED-Complete-reduced.pdf · Homebuyer Assistance Program policy, page 4, Repayment

  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.

    Eligible applicants have family incomes that do not exceed 80% of Area Median Family Income for family size. The currently posted City quick facts sheet lists HUD 2025 Low Income limits effective June 1, 2025: 1 person $42,800; 2 $48,900; 3 $55,000; 4 $61,100; 5 $66,000; 6 $70,900; 7 $75,800; 8 $80,700.

    From the official source
  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family.

    Applicant must first be pre-qualified with a primary lender; the home must be within Goldsboro city limits; applicant must have no primary ownership or interest in other residential real estate; must be a U.S. citizen or legal alien at application; have no outstanding judgments; specified medical/non-medical collections and charge-offs of $1,000 or more require an approved written payment plan with a positive 6-month payment history; Chapter 7 bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months and Chapter 13 requires trustee permission to acquire new debt; net worth must not exceed $20,000.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Goldsboro city.

    The home being purchased must be within the City limits of Goldsboro.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    The current City program materials provide program details and contacts for receiving an application, but the official sources reviewed do not explicitly state that funds are currently available.

    Checked 2026-09-26.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    First be pre-qualified with a primary lender before applying for down payment assistance. For an application or more information, contact the City of Goldsboro Community Relations Department at (919) 580-4359 or (919) 580-4318, or by email at JWilson@goldsboronc.gov or KMFuller@goldsboronc.gov.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    Homebuyer Assistance policy: Adopted Oct. 2021 / Rev. Aug. 2022 / Rev. Feb. 2024. The currently posted income table is labeled HUD Income Limits for 2025 (Effective June 1, 2025).

    From the official source
  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    No outstanding judgments. Medical and non-medical collections totaling $1,000 or more and charge-off balances of $1,000 or more must be on an approved written payment plan with a positive 6-month payment history. Chapter 7 bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months; Chapter 13 requires written permission of the Trustee to acquire new debt. No minimum credit score is stated in the current materials reviewed.

    From the official source
    • “No outstanding judgments. • Medical collections totaling $1,000 or more must be on an approved payment plan in writing with a positive 6-month payment history. The same requirements will apply to non-medical collections. • Charge-off account balances of $1,000 or more must be on an approved payment plan in writing with a positive 6-month payment history. • Chapter 7 Bankruptcy must be discharged for 24 months. Chapter 13 Bankruptcy must have written permission of Trustee to acquire new debt.”

      https://www.goldsboronc.gov/api/DocumentLibrary/6e9849c3-7e29-405e-a5cf-ff337072b976/versions/1/preview · Page 1, applicant requirements

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    conventional, FNMA, FHA, VA.

    Assistance must be provided in conjunction with a market fixed-rate, 15- to 30-year conventional, FNMA, FHA, or VA first mortgage loan.

    From the official source
  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for City of Goldsboro Home Buyer Assistance Program

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Goldsboro Community Relations and Development Department or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 7.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.