Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance: Forgivable Down Payment Loan
City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME)Administered by City of Gastonia Community Development DivisionForgivable loanNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source
What Is the City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program?
The City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME) is a North Carolina homebuyer program that gives down payment assistance and help with eligible closing costs, up to $7,500 in the standard program. It is run by the City of Gastonia Community Development Division, secured by a second mortgage, and used to buy a home in Gaston County with a conventional, FHA or USDA first mortgage.
The help is a forgivable loan at 0% interest. See how it compares in our list of North Carolina down payment assistance programs.
City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME) at a glance
- Maximum help
- Up to $50,000.
- Kind of help
- A forgivable loan.
- Interest and forgiveness
- 0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.
- Income limit
- The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
- First-time buyers only?
- Yes, with exceptions.
- Credit
- Applicant must be a reasonable credit risk; current lending market and lending institutions dictate credit score requirements. Additional policy rules address collections, bankruptcies, foreclosures, repossessions and DTI.
- Loan types
- FHA, USDA, conventional.
- Home price limit
- Homes priced up to $346,000.
- Where
- Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
- Homebuyer education
- Required.
- Buyer contribution
- At least $750 of personal funds
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- City of Gastonia Community Development Division
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME) and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Does Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance Give?
The standard amount is up to $7,500. For extreme circumstances, the City's policy allows more, based on the applicant's need and income: up to $10,000 below 30% of area median income, up to $7,500 at 31 to 50%, and up to $5,000 at 51 to 80%. A separate, larger pilot ended no later than June 30, 2026 and is no longer treated as open.
Who Qualifies for Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance Program?
These are the program's rules as the City states them. Only the City decides who qualifies.
- Income: no more than 80% of area median income for your household size. The City posts the current Gaston County table.
- First-time or repeat buyers: a first-time homebuyer, a displaced homebuyer, or someone who has not owned a home within the last three years.
- Property types: single-family homes, condominiums, townhomes and manufactured homes, one unit.
- Occupancy: the home must be your primary residence.
- Purchase price: HOME sales-price limits apply, set by the City for Gaston County for existing and new homes.
- Your own money: at least $750 of personal funds toward the purchase, at least $1,000 in savings documented for two consecutive months, and liquid assets no greater than $20,000.
- Credit: you must be a reasonable credit risk. The lending market and lenders set credit score requirements.
- Counseling: housing counseling before funding, plus the homebuyer education class for anyone on the Deed of Trust.
Is Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance a Grant or a Loan?
It is a forgivable loan, not a grant. Standard assistance is a 0% second mortgage with a five-year term, so there is no interest to pay.
How Does Gastonia Forgive Its Homebuyer Assistance Loan?
Standard assistance has a five-year term, and 20% is forgiven each year while the program's requirements are met. Certain events during the term can require you to repay the unforgiven balance, subject to the City's net-proceeds rules. Ask the City which events count before you sign.
Which Mortgages Work With Gastonia's Homebuyer Program?
The program may be used with conventional, FHA and USDA first mortgages. The City's sources are inconsistent about VA loans: one reference guide lists VA, while the underwriting guide lists only conventional, FHA and USDA. Ask the City before you count on a VA loan.
Where Can You Use Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance?
The home you buy must be within Gaston County. Applicants may live in a listed Gaston County municipality, in unincorporated Gaston County, or in Kings Mountain in Cleveland County. Residents of the town limits of High Shoals or Spencer Mountain cannot apply. Because residency and purchase rules differ, confirm your situation with the City.
How to Apply for Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance
Complete the City's pre-purchase application packet and provide the required documents before your counseling appointment. You can email the documents as PDFs to the City contact, mail them to City of Gastonia Housing and Community Engagement, PO Box 1748, Gastonia, NC 28053, or hand-deliver them to 150 S. York Street, Gastonia, NC 28052. Questions can go to the Community Development Division at 704-854-6602.
Funding: the City processes HOME funds first come, first served until they run out. As of September 26, 2026, the sources reviewed did not state whether standard-program funds are currently open.
Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Example: Buyer in Gaston County
A two-person household in Gaston County earns $62,000 a year and is buying a $250,000 single-family home to live in as their primary residence.
Illustration only
- Where
- Gaston County
- Household
- 2 people
- Income
- $62,000 a year
- Home price
- $250,000
About $50,000the program's maximum
May fit, with a question on the rules below, checked against the current record.
- Where: Applies to specific areas. Read the exact rule on the program page.
- Property: Single-family homes.
- Income: Within the program's limit of $75,150 for a household of 2.
- First-time buyer: They count as a first-time buyer.
- Home price: Within the maximum of $346,000.
- Who it is for: Open to anyone.
- Funding: Funding could not be confirmed.
An example household, not a quote. Only the administrator decides who qualifies and for how much.
Questions about City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME)
What is the income limit for Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance Program?
Applicant income cannot exceed 80% of area median income for the household size. The City posts the current Gaston County table.
How much does the Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program give?
The standard amount is up to $7,500, as a forgivable second mortgage for down payment and eligible closing costs.
Can repeat buyers use Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance Program?
In some cases. A buyer must be a first-time homebuyer, a displaced homebuyer, or not have owned a home within the last three years.
Does Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance Program pay closing costs?
Yes. It covers down payment and eligible closing costs.
Is the Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance loan forgiven?
Yes. The loan has a five-year term and 20% is forgiven each year while the requirements are met, though certain events during the term can require repayment of the unforgiven balance.
Does Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance work with FHA loans?
Yes. It may be used with conventional, FHA and USDA first mortgages. The City's sources disagree about VA loans, so ask the City.
What credit score do you need for Gastonia's Homebuyer Assistance?
The City does not state a minimum score. It says you must be a reasonable credit risk, and lenders set credit score requirements.
Do you need homebuyer education for Gastonia's program?
Yes. Housing counseling is required before funding, and the homebuyer education class is required for anyone listed on the Deed of Trust. Prior class certificates are valid for two years.
Complete City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME) program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 18 stated by the program
- 10 official sources checked from City of Gastonia
- Last verified October 13, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME)
From the official source
“Homebuyer Assistance Program The HOME Program is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and administered by the City of Gastonia's Community Development Division.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page heading and introductory paragraphs
2 of 19
Who runs it
City of Gastonia Community Development Division
704-854-6602
lauretta.gordon@gastonianc.gov
From the official source
“The HOME Program is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and administered by the City of Gastonia's Community Development Division.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, introduction
“Through the grant funding provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Gastonia offers financial assistance to first time homebuyers through the Homebuyer Assistance Program.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development.html · Community Development page, Programs section
“Lauretta Gordon, Housing Counselor 704-854-6602 (Office)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Contact Information
“Should you have any questions, about the process you may contact Lauretta Gordon at 704-854-6602 or by email at lauretta.gordon@gastonianc.gov”
3 of 19
Kind of help
A forgivable loan.
Down payment and eligible closing cost assistance secured by a second mortgage.
From the official source
“Funds are to be used for down payment and closing cost expenses, which are secured by a second mortgage.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · PDF p. 4, Assistance Amount
“Assistance is provided in the form of a second mortgage. There is no interest on the second mortgage and the term is 5 years. The second mortgage becomes due and payable at the occurrence of a trigger event during the five-year term, but the funds are pro-rated by 20% each year that the applicant buyer complies with the agreement.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 17, §17.1 Assistance Terms
4 of 19
Maximum amount
Up to $50,000.
Up to $50,000 through a limited pilot program while pilot funds remain: pilot assistance runs from $15,001 to $50,000, set by documented household need and underwriting. The standard program offers up to $15,000, and assistance reverts to that level when pilot funds are exhausted or the pilot ends. The minimum assistance is $1,000.
From the official source
“Unless special circumstances or programs apply, the maximum amount of assistance under the standard program is $15,000.00. When the pilot program is in effect and funds remain, assistance may be provided in amounts ranging from $15,001 up to $50,000, as determined through underwriting.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.2 Maximum Assistance Amount
“Pilot Program - up to $50,000”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Homebuyer Opportunity
“When Pilot Program funds are exhausted or the Pilot Program concludes, standard assistance shall revert to up to $15,000, based on documented household need, underwriting review, and funding availability.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.1 Funding Amount(s)
“The minimum amount of assistance allowable is $1,000.00.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.3 Minimum Assistance Amount
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The amount varies by tier.
{"pilot":{"tiers":[{"min":15001,"max_under":25000,"term_years":5,"forgiven_pct_per_year":20},{"max":50000,"min":25000,"term_years":10,"forgiven_pct_per_year":10}],"until":"funds are depleted","available_from":"2026-10"},"standard":{"max":15000,"min":1000,"term_years":5,"forgiven_pct_per_year":20},"expired_pilots":[{"max":15000,"end_date":"2026-06-30"}]}
From the official source
“Pilot assistance shall be structured as follows: • $15,001 to less than $25,000 o Five (5) year deferred, forgivable loan o Forgiven at 20% annually and fully forgiven at the end of year five (5) • $25,000 – $50,000 o Ten (10) year deferred, forgivable loan o Forgiven at 10% annually and fully forgiven at the end of year ten (10)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.1 Funding Amount(s)
“STANDARD PROGRAM: UP TO $15,000 Standard assistance is based on documented household need, underwriting review, and funding availability. Assistance shall be structured as a five (5) year deferred, forgivable loan forgiven at 20% annually and fully forgiven at the end of year five (5).”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.1 Standard Program
“The minimum amount of assistance allowable is $1,000.00.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 7, §3.3 Minimum Assistance Amount
“Pilot Program available October 2026 until funds are depleted.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Homebuyer Opportunity
“18.1 ADDENDUM: (EXPIRED) HOMEBUYER ASSISTANCE PILOT PROGRAM $15,000”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 5, table of contents
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
0% interest. Forgiven after 5 years.
Standard assistance is a 0% second mortgage with a five-year term; 20% is forgiven/satisfied each year while requirements are met. Trigger events during the term can require recapture of the unsatisfied balance, subject to applicable net-proceeds rules.
From the official source
“There is no interest on the second mortgage and the term is 5 years. The second mortgage becomes due and payable at the occurrence of a trigger event during the five-year term, but the funds are pro-rated by 20% each year that the applicant buyer complies with the agreement.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 17, §17.1 Assistance Terms
“Assistance is provided in the form of a second mortgage. There is no interest on the second mortgage and the term is 5 years.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 17, §17.1 Assistance Terms
“The second mortgage becomes due and payable at the occurrence of a trigger event during the five-year term, but the funds are pro-rated by 20% each year that the applicant buyer complies with the agreement. The unsatisfied balance must be recaptured.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF pp. 17–18, §§17.1 and 17.4
7 of 19
Income limit
The program publishes its own income limits by county and household size.
Applicant income cannot exceed 80% of area median income per family size. Effective June 1, 2026, Gaston County limits are: 1 $65,750; 2 $75,150; 3 $84,550; 4 $93,900; 5 $101,450; 6 $108,950; 7 $116,450; 8 $123,950.
From the official source
“Applicant’s income cannot exceed 80% of the area’s median income per family size. The income guidelines are subject to change annually: (effective June 1, 2026)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Incom_Limits_for_website_HBA.pdf · PDF p. 1, income table
“Applicant’s income cannot exceed 80% of the area’s median income per family size.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Incom_Limits_for_website_HBA.pdf · PDF p. 1
“The applicant’s annual household income must not exceed the applicable HUD HOME low- income limit (80% AMI), adjusted for household size”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 8, §4.3 Income
“1 Person $65,750 2 Person $75,150 3 Person $84,550 4 Person $93,900 5 Person $101,450 6 Person $108,950 7 Person $116,450 8 Person $123,950”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Incom_Limits_for_website_HBA.pdf · PDF p. 1, Gaston County income table
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
Yes, with exceptions.
Applicant buyer must be a first-time homebuyer, a displaced homebuyer, or cannot have owned a home within the last three years.
From the official source
“The applicant buyer must be a first-time homebuyer, a displaced homebuyer, or cannot have owned a home within the last three (3) years”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 9, §4.2 Applicant Buyer Status
9 of 19
Maximum home price
Homes priced up to $346,000.
Effective December 1, 2025 HOME homeownership sales-price limits for Gaston County: existing homes $340,000; new homes $346,000.
From the official source
“NC Gaston County Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC HUD Metro FMR Area $340,000 $346,000”
“New Construction: $ 346,000 Existing Construction: $340,000”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 23, Maximum Sales Price Limits
“New limits effective December 1, 2025) Existing Homes New Homes”
“Effective 12/01/2025 and subject to change annually) New Construction: $ 346,000 Existing Construction: $340,000”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 23, Maximum Sales Price Limits
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, condo, townhome, manufactured.
Applicant must meet residency rules, have at least $750 of personal funds toward the transaction, document at least $1,000 in savings for two consecutive months, have liquid assets no greater than $20,000, satisfy program underwriting, property inspection, and counseling requirements, and qualify for an eligible first mortgage.
From the official source
“Applicant must be a resident of Gaston County but not within the city limits of High Shoals or Spencer Mountain”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 1, Eligibility
“Borrower(s) must invest a minimum of $750.00 toward the purchase transaction. Buyer must be able to show proof of at least $1,000 saved.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 2, Borrower Investment
“Applicant’s liquid assets cannot exceed $20,000.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 2, Asset Limitation
“Must have two consecutive months’ proof of at least $1,000 in their bank account.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 3, Savings
“Homeownership education class required for anyone listed on the Deed of Trust.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 5, Homeownership education
“House must pass Minimum Housing Code Standards Inspection”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · page 6, Contract contingencies
“Qualify for a first-mortgage loan with a lender”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · page 19, Eligibility
“Property acquired with Homebuyers Assistance Program Funds must be used as the primary residence.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 12, §9.0 Eligible Property Types
“Program funds may be used to assist the following types of housing: • New Construction (single family) • Existing construction (single-family) • Condominiums • Townhomes • Manufactured Housing”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 12, §9.0 Eligible Property Types
11 of 19
Where it applies
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Applicant residency may be in listed Gaston County municipalities/unincorporated Gaston County or Kings Mountain within Cleveland County, with High Shoals and Spencer Mountain excluded. Property purchased with the program must be within Gaston County.
Exceptions: Applicant buyers cannot reside within the town limits of High Shoals or Spencer Mountain. Kings Mountain residency in Cleveland County is permitted for applicant eligibility, but the current pilot addendum states the purchase program area is Gaston County.
From the official source
“Applicant buyer(s) must be a resident of Gaston County in the following townships: Gastonia, Belmont, Bessemer City, Cherryville, Cramerton, Dallas, Lowell, McAdenville, Mount Holly, Ranlo, Stanley, or the unincorporated areas of Gaston County, and cannot reside within the town limits of High Shoals or Spencer Mountain; or may be a resident of Kings Mountain, Cleveland County (within the city limits).”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF pp. 8–9, §4.1 Residency and p. 21 Pilot Purchase Program Area
“Purchase Program Area Eligible participants must purchase within Gaston County.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 21, Pilot Addendum, Purchase Program Area
“and cannot reside within the town limits of High Shoals or Spencer Mountain; or may be a resident of Kings Mountain, Cleveland County (within the city limits).”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF pp. 8–9, §4.1 Residency
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
The program page says a pilot of up to $50,000 is available from October 2026 until funds are depleted, but the same page also says to stay tuned for future announcements, and the policy revised October 7, 2026 says the pilot takes effect once the FY26 Annual Action Plan is approved and the FY26 HUD funding agreement is executed. Standard assistance is given first come, first served until program funding is depleted. No official source says whether applications are being taken now.
Checked 2026-09-26.
From the official source
“STAY TUNED FOR FUTURE ANNOUCEMENTS”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Homebuyer Opportunity
“Pilot Program available October 2026 until funds are depleted.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Homebuyer Opportunity
“The pilot program will be effective upon both approval of the FY26 Annual Action Plan and execution of the FY26 HUD Funding Agreement. The pilot program may continue beyond June 30, 2027, subject to available funds.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 23, §18.0 Program Period
“Funds are processed and given on a first come first serve basis to eligible applicant buyers until program funding is depleted.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 6, §2.1 Funding Availability
“Pilot Program available December 3, 2025 - June 30, 2026 or until funds are depleted.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page checked 2026-09-26, Pilot Program section
13 of 19
How to apply
Request an application packet by email, phone or in person, then return the completed Homebuyer Pre-Purchase Counseling & Assistance Application and the required documents by email (PDF, with your name as the subject) to lauretta.gordon@gastonianc.gov, by mail to City of Gastonia, Housing and Community Engagement, PO Box 1748, Gastonia, NC 28053, or by hand to 150 S. York Street (2nd floor), Gastonia, NC 28052. Staff review the documents, pull a credit report and schedule a one-on-one counseling appointment; a homebuyer education class is required for all applicants. Applicants with a lender pre-approval receive priority.
From the official source
“Documents can be delivered via: • Email: lauretta.gordon@gastonianc.gov (must be in “PDF” format) with your name as the subject • Mail: City of Gastonia, Housing and Community Engagement, PO Box 1748, Gastonia, NC 28053 • Hand-delivered: 150 S. York Street, Gastonia, NC 28052 (2nd floor)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Homebuyer_PrePurchase_Counseling_and_Assistance_Application_Rev_10-08-26.pdf · PDF p. 1, Step Two
“Once you have provided the required documents, the Counselor will pull a credit report (Equifax)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Homebuyer_PrePurchase_Counseling_and_Assistance_Application_Rev_10-08-26.pdf · PDF p. 1, Step Three
“Request an application packet by email, phone, or in person.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/FY26-27_HBA_Brochure_Updated_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 2, What is my first step?
“Attend a Homebuyer Education class (required for all applicants).”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/FY26-27_HBA_Brochure_Updated_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 2, What is my first step?
“Application (Applicant Buyers with Lender Pre-Approval will receive priority)”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Program Information links
“Homebuyer Pre-Purchase Counseling & Assistance Application”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/Homebuyer_PrePurchase_Counseling_and_Assistance_Application_Rev_10-08-26.pdf · PDF p. 1, title
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
A pilot program of up to $50,000 is available from October 2026 until funds are depleted. The policy revised October 7, 2026 says the pilot takes effect once the FY26 Annual Action Plan is approved and the FY26 HUD funding agreement is executed, and may continue beyond June 30, 2027, subject to available funds. The earlier $15,000 pilot (December 2025 to June 30, 2026) has expired.
From the official source
“Pilot Program available October 2026 until funds are depleted.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/community-development/homebuyers-assistance-program.html · Web page, Homebuyer Opportunity
“The pilot program will be effective upon both approval of the FY26 Annual Action Plan and execution of the FY26 HUD Funding Agreement. The pilot program may continue beyond June 30, 2027, subject to available funds.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 23, §18.0 Pilot Program Addendum, Program Period
“18.1 ADDENDUM: (EXPIRED) HOMEBUYER ASSISTANCE PILOT PROGRAM $15,000”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2026_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide_rev_10-07-26.pdf · PDF p. 5, table of contents
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
Applicant must be a reasonable credit risk; current lending market and lending institutions dictate credit score requirements. Additional policy rules address collections, bankruptcies, foreclosures, repossessions and DTI.
From the official source
“The applicant buyer must be a reasonable credit risk. The current lending market and lending institutions dictate credit score requirements.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 14, §12-1 Credit
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
FHA, USDA, conventional.
The Homebuyer Program may be used with conventional, FHA and USDA loans. The January 2026 quick reference also lists VA among first-mortgage conditions, creating a source inconsistency regarding VA eligibility.
From the official source
“The Homebuyer Program may be used with conventional, FHA and USDA loans.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 15, §13.2 Loan Types
“• Fixed rate mortgages, no adjustable rates allowed • Thirty-year term • Conventional, USDA, FHA, VA”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_-Quick_Reference_Guide_rev_Jan_8_2026.pdf · PDF p. 2, First Mortgage Loan Conditions
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
Required.
All applicant buyers must receive housing counseling before receiving Homebuyer Program funding, and the homebuyer education class is required for anyone listed on the Deed of Trust; prior class certificates are valid for two years.
From the official source
“All applicant buyers must receive housing counseling before receiving Homebuyer Program Funding, and the homebuyer education class is required for anyone listed on the Deed of Trust.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 17, §16.0 Homebuyer Education
“All applicant buyers must receive housing counseling before receiving Homebuyer Program Funding, and the homebuyer education class is required for anyone listed on the Deed of Trust. If the client has already completed the class, certificates are only good for 2 years and the applicant buyer must maintain the certificate as proof of attendance.”
https://www.gastonianc.gov/images/Housing__Community_Engagement/2025_Homebuyers_Assistance_Program_Underwriting_Guide-rev_April_08_2026.pdf · PDF p. 17, §16.0 Homebuyer Education
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Assistance
Burlington HOME Consortium Homebuyer AssistancePiedmont Triad Regional Council
Official sources for City of Gastonia Homebuyer Assistance Program (HOME)
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with City of Gastonia Community Development Division or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 10.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.