DownPaymentMap

Cumberland County NC Down Payment Assistance: GAP & DAP

Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance ProgramAdministered by Cumberland County Community DevelopmentAssistanceNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source

What Is the Cumberland County GAP and DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program?

The Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that provides down payment assistance and gap financing, run by Cumberland County Community Development. The down payment assistance part (DAP) is up to $5,000, and the gap financing part (GAP) is up to $20,000, with a combined maximum of $25,000. It applies to homes in Cumberland County outside Fayetteville city limits.

It pairs a forgivable second mortgage with a longer loan, so the two parts work differently. See other North Carolina down payment assistance programs to compare.

Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program at a glance

Maximum help
Up to $25,000.
Kind of help
A assistance.
Interest and forgiveness
4% interest.
Income limit
The official page states the program is for low-income households but does not publish a numerical income limit on the current page.
First-time buyers only?
Yes, with exceptions.
Where
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Homebuyer education
Required.
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
Who runs it
Cumberland County Community Development

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Much Down Payment Assistance Does Cumberland County Give?

DAP is up to $5,000, and no more than $2,500 of it can go toward closing costs. GAP is up to $20,000. Together, GAP and DAP are capped at $25,000.

Who Qualifies for Cumberland County GAP and DAP Assistance?

These are the program's rules as the County states them.

  • Income: The County says the program is for low-income households but does not publish a numerical income limit on its current page.
  • First-time or repeat buyers: Applicants include a low-income household that has not owned a home within the past three years, displaced homemakers, single parents, families living in a mobile home not on a permanent foundation, and owner-occupants of homes feasible for renovation.
  • Occupancy: The home must be your principal residence for the applicable HOME affordability period.
  • Residency: The home must be in Cumberland County, outside the City limits of Fayetteville.
  • Credit score, price limit and property types: not stated.

Cumberland County Community Development decides who qualifies.

Is Cumberland County GAP and DAP a Grant or a Loan?

Both parts are loans. DAP is a deferred forgivable second mortgage, and GAP is a 30-year loan secured by a first, second or third mortgage (third if USDA Rural Development). The record lists a 4% interest rate for both.

Do You Have to Pay Back Cumberland County GAP and DAP?

DAP can be forgiven. It has a 10-year term, payments and interest are deferred for the first five years, and forgiveness begins in month 61 and on each anniversary after that over the remaining term. GAP has a 30-year term and is repaid.

The home must stay your principal residence for the HOME affordability period. If you sell or refinance during that time, the County recaptures loan proceeds for reuse in another homebuyer activity, and refinancing needs County approval.

Where Is Cumberland County GAP and DAP Available?

The home must be bought in Cumberland County, outside the City limits of Fayetteville. Properties inside Fayetteville city limits are excluded. Check the address with Cumberland County Community Development before you make an offer.

How to Apply for Cumberland County GAP and DAP

Contact Kingdom CDC to sign up for the Home-buyer Workshop. After you finish it and get a certificate, contact a local lender to see whether you can get a mortgage. The lender submits the package to Cumberland County Community Development, and then you shop for a home. The County's phone number is 910-323-6112. The record does not say whether funds are currently available, so ask when you call. To see other options, find programs that may fit you.

Questions about Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program

How much does Cumberland County GAP and DAP give?

Up to $25,000 combined: DAP is up to $5,000 and GAP is up to $20,000.

What is the income limit for the Cumberland County homebuyer assistance program?

The County says the program is for low-income households but does not publish a numerical income limit on its current page.

Can repeat buyers use Cumberland County GAP and DAP?

Possibly. Applicants include a low-income household that has not owned a home within the past three years, and the record also lists displaced homemakers, single parents and certain other households.

Is Cumberland County DAP forgivable?

Yes. DAP is a deferred forgivable second mortgage with a 10-year term, and forgiveness begins in month 61.

Does Cumberland County DAP pay closing costs?

Yes, in part. No more than $2,500 of DAP can be used toward closing costs.

Is Cumberland County GAP and DAP available in Fayetteville?

No. The home must be in Cumberland County outside the City limits of Fayetteville.

How do I apply for Cumberland County GAP and DAP?

Contact Kingdom CDC for the Home-buyer Workshop, then a local lender, who submits the package to Cumberland County Community Development.

Complete Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 14 stated by the program
  • 2 official sources checked from Cumberland County
  • Last verified October 13, 2026
  • Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    Cumberland County Community Development

    910-323-6112

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A assistance.

    GAP financing and down-payment/closing-cost assistance for eligible homebuyers.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    Up to $25,000.

    DAP maximum is $5,000, with no more than $2,500 of DAP used toward closing costs. Maximum GAP loan is $20,000; maximum combined GAP and DAP assistance is $25,000.

    From the official source
  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The amount varies by tier.

    {"DAP":{"max_usd":5000,"term_years":10,"interest_rate_pct":4,"closing_cost_cap_usd":2500,"forgiveness_starts_month":61,"payments_and_interest_deferred_years":5},"GAP":{"max_usd":20000,"term_years":30,"interest_rate_pct":4},"GAP_plus_DAP":{"max_usd":25000}}

    From the official source
  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    4% interest.

    DAP is a deferred forgivable second mortgage with a 10-year term; payments and interest are deferred for the first five years and forgiveness begins in month 61 and on each anniversary thereafter over the remaining term. GAP or combined GAP/DAP is secured by a first, second, or third mortgage (third if USDA Rural Development), has a 30-year term, and refinancing requires County approval during the affordability period.

    From the official source
  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    The official page states the program is for low-income households but does not publish a numerical income limit on the current page.

    From the official source
  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    Yes, with exceptions.

    Eligible applicants include a low-income household that has not owned a home within the past three years, displaced homemakers, single parents, families living in a mobile home not on a permanent foundation, and owner-occupants of homes feasible for renovation.

    From the official source
  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    You must live in the home as your primary residence.

    The property must be used and retained as the buyer's principal residence for the applicable HOME affordability period. If sold or refinanced during that period, Cumberland County Community Development recaptures loan proceeds for reuse in another homebuyer activity.

    From the official source
  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.

    Home must be purchased in Cumberland County, outside the City limits of Fayetteville.

    Exceptions: Properties inside Fayetteville city limits are excluded.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    Funding status could not be confirmed.

    The current official program page describes GAP and DAP and how to apply but does not explicitly state that funds are currently available.

    Checked 2026-10-02.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    Contact Kingdom CDC to sign up for the Home-buyer Workshop. After completing the workshop and obtaining a certificate, contact a local lender to determine mortgage qualification; the lender submits the package to Cumberland County Community Development, then the buyer shops for a home.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    Required.

    The County states its First Time Homebuyers Program requires a First Time Homebuyers Workshop and directs applicants to Kingdom CDC.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Cumberland County GAP & DAP Homebuyer Assistance Program

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Cumberland County Community Development or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 2.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.