Choanoke Consortium: Down Payment Help in 5 NC Counties
Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance ProgramAdministered by Halifax CountyAssistanceNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source
What Is the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program?
The Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that provides direct financial assistance, in the nature of down payment assistance, to low- and moderate-income first-time buyers. Halifax County is listed as the administrator. It serves a five-county area in northeastern North Carolina: Bertie, Halifax, Hertford, Martin and Northampton counties.
The record does not state a maximum amount, the loan type or how to apply.
Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program at a glance
- Kind of help
- Direct financial assistance to eligible LMI first-time homebuyers.
- Income limit
- Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
- First-time buyers only?
- Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
- Where
- Bertie County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Northampton County.
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- Halifax County
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Help Does the Choanoke Program Give?
The record describes the help only as direct financial assistance. It does not state a maximum amount per buyer, and it does not say whether the help is a grant, a forgivable loan, a deferred loan or a repayable loan. No interest rate, forgiveness period or repayment terms are stated.
Ask the administrator how much a buyer could receive before you plan around any figure.
Who Qualifies for the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program?
The program's plan describes its buyers in broad terms.
- Income: Low- to moderate-income households, described as 0-80% of HUD area median family income (HAMFI). The plan gives no dollar limit.
- First-time or repeat buyers: First-time homebuyers.
- Credit score, price limit, property types and occupancy: Not stated.
- Homebuyer education: Not stated.
Only the administrator decides who qualifies.
Where Is the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program Available?
The program applies consortium wide, in Bertie County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County and Northampton County. The map below shows the five counties.
Is the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program Funded Right Now?
The funding status is unknown, as checked on September 26, 2026. The plan allocates HOME funding to the program and gives a target date, but the official source does not expressly state that applicant funds are currently available.
Contact Halifax County before you count on this help. You can also compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs or see which programs may fit you.
How to Reach the Choanoke Program Administrator
Halifax County is the listed administrator. Its phone and email appear in the complete record below. No application steps or application address are stated.
Questions about Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program
What is the income limit for the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program?
The plan describes low- to moderate-income households as 0-80% of HAMFI. It states no dollar limit, so ask Halifax County how it is applied.
Does the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program require first-time buyers?
Yes. The plan says the Consortium will provide direct financial assistance for first-time homebuyers, so repeat buyers do not appear to be covered.
How much does the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program give?
The record does not state an amount. It describes the help only as direct financial assistance, with no maximum, loan type or repayment terms.
Which counties does the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program cover?
It covers Bertie, Halifax, Hertford, Martin and Northampton counties, described as the consortium wide service area.
Is the Choanoke Purchase Assistance Program funded right now?
The funding status is unknown as of September 26, 2026. The official source does not expressly state that applicant funds are currently available.
Is this program down payment assistance?
The record calls it direct financial assistance for first-time homebuyers. It does not say the money can be used only for a down payment, so ask Halifax County what it covers.
Complete Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 9 stated by the program
- 2 official sources checked from Halifax County
- Last verified October 13, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program
From the official source
“Project Name Purchase Assistance Program”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 30, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
2 of 19
Who runs it
Halifax County
252-583-1131 ext. 2254
wellsc@halifaxnc.com
From the official source
“HOME Administrator HALIFAX COUNTY County Manager’s Office”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 6, PR-05 Lead & Responsible Agencies
“www.halifaxnc.com”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 6, Consolidated Plan Public Contact Information
“Phone: 252-583-1131 ext. 2254”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 6, Consolidated Plan Public Contact Information
“Email: wellsc@halifaxnc.com”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 6, Consolidated Plan Public Contact Information
3 of 19
Kind of help
Direct financial assistance to eligible LMI first-time homebuyers.
From the official source
“Description The Consortium will provide direct financial assistance for eligible LMI first time homebuyers.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF pp. 30-31, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
4 of 19
Maximum amount
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
7 of 19
Income limit
Household income up to 80% of the area median income for your county and household size.
Eligible LMI first time homebuyers; the plan states low- to moderate-income households are 0-80% HAMFI.
From the official source
“Note: Low- to moderate-income households are 0-80% HAMFI. HAMFI is the median family income calculated by HUD for each jurisdiction, to determine income limits for HUD programs.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 32, AP-50 Geographic Distribution
“Note: Low- to moderate-income households are 0-80% HAMFI.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 32, AP-50 Geographic Distribution
“The Consortium will provide direct financial assistance for eligible LMI first time homebuyers.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 30, AP-38 Project 5 Purchase Assistance Program, Description
“Note: Low- to moderate- income households are 0-80% HAMFI.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 32, AP-50 Geographic Distribution
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
The Consortium will provide direct financial assistance for eligible LMI first time homebuyers.
From the official source
“Goals Supported 4A Provide Purchase Assistance for First Time Homebuyers”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 30, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
“The Consortium will provide direct financial assistance for eligible LMI first time homebuyers.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF pp. 30-31, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
9 of 19
Maximum home price
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
11 of 19
Where it applies
Bertie County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Northampton County.
Bertie County; Halifax County; Hertford County; Martin County; Northampton County. Location Description: Consortium wide service area.
From the official source
“Target Area Bertie County Halifax County Hertford County Martin County Northampton County”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 30, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
The FY2025 plan allocates HOME funding to the Purchase Assistance Program and gives a target date of 9/30/2026, but the official source does not expressly state that applicant funds are currently available.
Checked 2026-09-26.
From the official source
“Funding HOME: $63,117 Target Date 9/30/2026”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF pp. 30-31, AP-38 Project Summary, Project 5
“Target Date 9/30/2026”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · Research check date; official FY2025 plan reviewed
13 of 19
How to apply
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
In effect since 2025-10-01.
This third program year for the HOME program starts on October 1, 2025, and ends on September 30, 2026. Purchase Assistance Program target date: 9/30/2026.
From the official source
“This third program year for the HOME program starts on October 1, 2025, and ends on September 30, 2026.”
https://www.halifaxnc.com/DocumentCenter/View/4912/2025-Annual-Action-Plan---Draft · PDF p. 2, Executive Summary, Introduction
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Assistance
CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership ProgramChoanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA)
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Official sources for Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance Program
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Halifax County or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 2.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.