CADA Voucher Homeownership: Down Payment Help, Bertie
CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership ProgramAdministered by Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA)AssistanceNorth Carolina
Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina
Published · Updated · Facts verified against the official source
What Is the CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program?
The CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that offers down payment assistance and ongoing help for Section 8 voucher holders buying a home in Bertie and Hertford counties. It is run by the Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA). Instead of a one-time amount, CADA makes a monthly homeownership assistance payment toward the household's housing costs.
It is only for families who already hold a Housing Choice Voucher. CADA approves the sales agreement and the mortgage.
CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program at a glance
- Maximum help
- The amount of the monthly assistance payment is based on the voucher payment standard, monthly homeownership expense, and household income; CADA pays the lower of the payment standard minus total tenant payment or monthly homeownership expenses minus total tenant payment.
- Kind of help
- A assistance.
- Income limit
- Homeownership participants must meet general Housing Choice Voucher eligibility requirements. At commencement of homeownership assistance, the owning adult household member(s) must have gross annual income at least equal to the Federal minimum hourly wage multiplied by 2,000 hours; a disabled family uses monthly Federal SSI multiplied by twelve, subject to the plan's stated income-source rules.
- First-time buyers only?
- Yes, with exceptions.
- Credit
- CADA's Annual PHA Plan states that a participating family must have a satisfactory credit score for the chosen lending product; no numeric minimum credit score was found in the official sources reviewed.
- Loan types
- CADA must approve proposed mortgage financing, which must comply with generally accepted mortgage underwriting requirements. The Administrative Plan references HUD/FHA, Ginnie Mae, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, NCHFA, USDA Rural Housing Services, Federal Home Loan Bank, or other private lending institution standards for non-FHA-insured mortgages, but does not state a closed list of eligible loan types.
- Where
- Bertie County, Hertford County.
- Homebuyer education
- Required.
- Buyer contribution
- Down payment of 3% of purchase price, at least 1% from your own resources
- Current funding status
- Funding status could not be confirmed.
- Who runs it
- Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA)
Check your eligibility
Answer a few quick questions to see whether CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.
Check eligibility →Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.
How Much Help Does the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program Give?
The record states no fixed maximum. The monthly payment depends on the voucher payment standard, the monthly homeownership expense and household income.
CADA pays the lower of two figures: the payment standard minus the household's total tenant payment, or the monthly homeownership expenses minus the total tenant payment.
Who Qualifies for the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
These are the program's rules as CADA's Administrative Plan states them.
- Voucher: You must meet general Housing Choice Voucher requirements, complete the initial Section 8 lease term and the first annual recertification, and owe no debt to CADA or another housing authority.
- Income: The owning adult household members must have gross annual income at least equal to the Federal minimum hourly wage multiplied by 2,000 hours. A disabled family uses monthly Federal SSI multiplied by twelve.
- Employment: Except for elderly and disabled households, an owning adult must meet the plan's full-time employment requirement.
- First-time or repeat buyers: Families must be first-time homeowners, except families with a disabled member. No household member may have owned a residence in the prior three years, with stated exceptions.
- Credit score: CADA's plan calls for a satisfactory credit score for the chosen lending product. No numeric minimum was found.
- Occupancy: The home must be owner-occupied.
- Property types: Single-family homes, condos and manufactured homes.
- Own funds: A minimum down payment of 3% of the purchase price is required, with at least 1% from the family's own resources.
Only CADA decides who qualifies.
Do You Have to Pay Back the CADA Voucher Homeownership Assistance?
The record does not state repayment terms, an interest rate or a forgiveness period. It describes a monthly payment CADA makes on the family's behalf, not a loan.
One rule is stated: a participant must not have previously defaulted on a mortgage obtained through the Section 8 homeownership program. Ask CADA what happens if your circumstances change.
What Mortgages Work With the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
CADA must approve the proposed mortgage financing, and it must meet generally accepted mortgage underwriting requirements. The Administrative Plan points to HUD/FHA, Ginnie Mae, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, NCHFA, USDA Rural Housing Services, Federal Home Loan Bank or other private lending institution standards.
It does not state a closed list of eligible loan types, so confirm your lender's loan with CADA.
Where Is the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program Available?
You can use the assistance to buy an eligible home in Bertie County or Hertford County. CADA also allows portability to another jurisdiction if that area runs a qualifying Section 8 homeownership program or authorizes CADA to administer the assistance there.
How to Apply for the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program
The pathway is for Housing Choice Voucher participants. After the initial lease term and first annual recertification, CADA determines eligibility. You then complete approved homeownership counseling and CADA's home-purchase approval steps, including CADA approval of the sales agreement and mortgage and both a CADA/HQS inspection and an independent inspection.
CADA's page says the general HCV waiting list is closed. Call CADA HCV staff at 252-539-4155 for current homeownership intake instructions. You can also compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs.
Questions about CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program
Who can use the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
It is for Housing Choice Voucher participants who have completed the initial lease term and first annual recertification. Other conditions include homeownership counseling and CADA approval of the purchase.
How much does the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program pay?
The record states no fixed maximum. CADA pays the lower of the payment standard minus total tenant payment, or monthly homeownership expenses minus total tenant payment.
Can repeat buyers use the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
Generally no. Families must be first-time homeowners, except families with a disabled member. No household member may have owned a residence in the prior three years, with stated exceptions.
Which counties does the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program cover?
Bertie and Hertford counties. Portability to another jurisdiction is allowed if it runs a qualifying Section 8 homeownership program or authorizes CADA to administer the assistance.
Is there a minimum credit score for the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
No numeric minimum was found. CADA's plan says a family must have a satisfactory credit score for the chosen lending product.
Do I need homebuyer education for the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program?
Yes. You must attend and complete a homeownership and housing counseling program provided or approved by CADA before assistance begins. CADA may require continuing counseling.
Is the CADA Voucher Homeownership Program taking applicants now?
The current funding status is unknown, as of a check on September 26, 2026. CADA's page says the HCV waiting list is closed, so call 252-539-4155 to ask about homeownership intake.
Complete CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program program record
The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.
- 19 program details reviewed; 15 stated by the program
- 4 official sources checked from Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA)
- Last verified October 13, 2026
- Current funding status could not be confirmed
View all 19 verified program details ↓Hide the program details ↑
1 of 19
Program name
CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program
From the official source
“The Section 8 Home Ownership Program administered by the Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc., (CADA) which will be referred as the Housing Agency (HA), permits eligible participants in the Section 8 housing choice voucher program, including participants with portable vouchers, the option of purchasing a home with their Section 8 assistance rather than renting.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111, Chapter 19 — Section 8 Home Ownership Program, General Provisions
2 of 19
Who runs it
Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA)
252-539-4155
From the official source
“The Section 8 Home Ownership Program administered by the Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc., (CADA) which will be referred as the Housing Agency (HA)”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111, Chapter 19 — Section 8 Home Ownership Program, General Provisions
“Copyright © 2026. NC-CADA Choanoke Area Development Association of NC, Inc”
https://www.nc-cada.org/ · Home page, footer
“For more information about the Housing Choice Voucher Program please contact Wendy Futrell at (252) 539-4155”
https://www.nc-cada.org/programs/housing-choice-voucher-program.html · Housing Choice Voucher Program page, Information For Tenants, final paragraph
3 of 19
Kind of help
A assistance.
Eligible Housing Choice Voucher participants may use Section 8 assistance toward homeownership; the monthly homeownership assistance payment is the lower of the applicable voucher payment standard minus total tenant payment or monthly homeownership expenses minus total tenant payment.
From the official source
“The HA will pay the lower of either the payment standard minus the total tenant payment”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 118, Chapter 19 §4(a) Amount of Assistance
“("TTP") or the family's monthly homeownership expenses minus the TTP. The Section 8 family will pay the difference.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 119, Chapter 19 §4(a), continued
“The amount of the monthly assistance payment will be based on three factors: the voucher payment standard for which the family is eligible; the monthly homeownership expense; and the family's household income.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 117-118, Chapter 19 §4(a) Amount of Assistance
4 of 19
Maximum amount
The amount of the monthly assistance payment is based on the voucher payment standard, monthly homeownership expense, and household income; CADA pays the lower of the payment standard minus total tenant payment or monthly homeownership expenses minus total tenant payment.
From the official source
“The amount of the monthly assistance payment will be based on three factors: the voucher payment standard for which the family is eligible; the monthly homeownership expense; and the family's household income. The HA will pay the lower of either the payment standard minus the total tenant payment”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 118, Chapter 19 §4(a) Amount of Assistance
“("TTP") or the family's monthly homeownership expenses minus the TTP.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 119, Chapter 19 §4(a), continued
5 of 19
Amount tiers
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
6 of 19
Forgiveness, interest and term
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
7 of 19
Income limit
Homeownership participants must meet general Housing Choice Voucher eligibility requirements. At commencement of homeownership assistance, the owning adult household member(s) must have gross annual income at least equal to the Federal minimum hourly wage multiplied by 2,000 hours; a disabled family uses monthly Federal SSI multiplied by twelve, subject to the plan's stated income-source rules.
From the official source
“At the time the family begins receiving homeownership assistance, the head of household, spouse, and/or other adult household members, who will own the home, must have a gross annual income at least equal to the Federal minimum hourly wage multiplied by 2000 hours. A disabled family must have a gross annual income based on the monthly Federal”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 113, Chapter 19 §2(c) Minimum Income Requirement
“Supplemental Security Income (SSI) multiplied by twelve.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · PDF page 114, Chapter 19 §2(c), continued
8 of 19
First-time buyer rule
Yes, with exceptions.
Each Section 8 family, except families with a disabled member, must be a first-time homeowner. No household member may have had an ownership interest in a residence during the prior three years, with stated exceptions for a single parent or displaced homemaker who owned with a spouse; lease-purchase rights are not treated as an ownership interest, and a cooperative member qualifies as a first-time homeowner.
From the official source
“Each Section 8 family, except families with a disabled member, must be a first-time homeowner.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 112, Chapter 19 §2(b) First-Time Homeowner
“A "first-time homeowner" means that no member of the household has had an ownership interest in any residence during the three years preceding commencement of home ownership assistance. However, a single parent or displaced homemaker who, while married, owned a home with a spouse (or resided in a home owned by a spouse) is considered a "first-time homeowner" for purposes of the Section 8 homeownership option; and the right to purchase title to a residence under a lease-purchase agreement is not considered an "ownership interest." A member of a cooperative (as defined in section 982.4) also qualifies as a "first time homeowner".”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 112, Chapter 19 §2(b) First-Time Homeowner
9 of 19
Maximum home price
The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.
10 of 19
Other must-know rules
You must live in the home as your primary residence. Eligible property types: single family, condo, manufactured.
Applicants must have completed an initial Section 8 lease term and first annual recertification, owe no debt to CADA or another housing authority, and must not have previously defaulted on a mortgage obtained through the Section 8 homeownership program. Except for elderly and disabled households, an owning adult must meet the plan's full-time employment requirement. A minimum down payment of 3% of purchase price is required, with at least 1% from the family's own resources. Participants must complete approved homeownership counseling, obtain CADA approval of the sales agreement and mortgage, and obtain both CADA/HQS and independent inspections.
From the official source
“Eligible applicants for the Section 8 home ownership program must have completed an initial Section 8 lease term, may not owe the HA or any other Public Housing Authority an outstanding debt, and must meet the eligibility criteria set forth herein.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111-114, Chapter 19 §§1(b), 2(a), 2(e)-(g), 3(a)
“Minimum down payment of 3% of purchase price with no less than 1% coming from the family's own resources.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 112, Chapter 19 §2(a)(viii)
“Complete a home ownership counseling program approved by the HA prior to the commencement of homeownership assistance; Within a specified time, locate the home it proposes to purchase; Submit a sales agreement containing specific components to the HA for approval; Allow the HA to inspect the proposed home ownership dwelling to assure that the dwelling meets appropriate housing quality standards; Obtain an independent inspection covering major building systems; Obtain the HA approval of the proposed mortgage”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 114, Chapter 19 §3(a) Family Participation Requirements
“You must occupy the unit as your principal residence.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 121, Statement of Homeowner Obligations §5 Occupancy
“A family approved for Section 8 homeownership assistance may purchase the following type of homes within Bertie and Hertford counties: a new or existing home, a single-family home, a condominium, a home in a planned use development, a cooperative, aloft or live/work unit, or a manufactured home to be situated on a privately owned lot or on a leased pad in a mobile home park.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 115, Chapter 19 §3(c)(ii) Type of Home
11 of 19
Where it applies
Bertie County, Hertford County.
Section 8 home ownership assistance may be used to purchase eligible homes within Bertie and Hertford counties. CADA also permits portability to another jurisdiction if the receiving jurisdiction operates a qualifying Section 8 homeownership program or authorizes CADA to administer the assistance there.
Exceptions: Portability outside Bertie and Hertford counties is permitted under the Administrative Plan when the receiving jurisdiction operates a Section 8 homeownership program for which the applicant qualifies or authorizes CADA to administer the assistance in that jurisdiction.
From the official source
“Section 8 home ownership assistance may be used to purchase the following type of homes within Bertie and Hertford counties”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111, Chapter 19 §1(c) General Provisions
“Section 8 home ownership assistance may be used to purchase the following type of homes within Bertie and Hertford counties: new or existing single-family, condominium, planned use developments, cooperatives, lofts, live/work units, or manufactured homes. The HA also will permit portability of Section 8 home ownership assistance to another jurisdiction, provided the receiving jurisdiction operates a Section 8 home ownership program for which the Section 8 home ownership applicant qualifies or authorizes the HA to administer the home ownership assistance in their jurisdiction.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111, Chapter 19 §1(c) General Provisions
“The HA also will permit portability of Section 8 home ownership assistance to another jurisdiction, provided the receiving jurisdiction operates a Section 8 home ownership program for which the Section 8 home ownership applicant qualifies or authorizes the HA to administer the home ownership assistance in their jurisdiction.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 111, Chapter 19 §1(c) General Provisions
12 of 19
Current funding status
Funding status could not be confirmed.
CADA's current Housing Choice Voucher page states that the HCV waiting list is closed. Official sources reviewed do not state whether CADA is currently accepting existing HCV participants into new homeownership-option slots or whether the program's 5% homeownership cap has available capacity.
Checked 2026-09-26.
From the official source
“For families that are interested in applying, our waiting list, unfortunately, is closed at this time, however, our agency will make a public announcement in the local newspaper that will provide the date and time of the opening of the waitlist.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/programs/housing-choice-voucher-program.html · CADA Housing Choice Voucher Program page, Information For Tenants
“Choanoke Area Development Association of NC, Inc. (CADA) has closed the waiting list for the Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) in Bertie and Hertford Counties at the close of business on Thursday, July 11, 2024. The waiting list will remain closed until the number of applicants on the waiting list is less than the number CADA can serve in a twelve-month period.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/programs/housing-choice-voucher-program.html · CADA Housing Choice Voucher Program page, Notice of Intent to Close Housing Choice Voucher Program Waiting List
“For families that are interested in applying, our waiting list, unfortunately, is closed at this time”
https://www.nc-cada.org/programs/housing-choice-voucher-program.html · CADA Housing Choice Voucher Program page, current page reviewed 2026-09-26
13 of 19
How to apply
The pathway is for Housing Choice Voucher participants. CADA's plan requires completion of the initial HCV lease term and first annual recertification before homeownership participation; after eligibility determination, participants complete approved homeownership counseling and CADA's home-purchase approval steps. The general HCV waiting list is currently closed; contact CADA HCV staff at 252-539-4155 for current homeownership-option intake instructions.
From the official source
“Applicants for and new participants in the Section 8 housing choice voucher program shall be ineligible for participation in the Section 8 homeownership program until completion of an initial Section 8 lease term and the participant's first annual recertification in the Section 8 housing choice voucher program.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 113-114, Chapter 19 §§2(e), 3(a)
14 of 19
Official source
15 of 19
Dates
The governing homeownership provisions located are in CADA's file named 2018 HCVProg Administrative Plan. The current program page continues to describe the HCV homeownership opportunity but does not state a revision or effective date for the homeownership rules.
From the official source
“The Housing Choice Voucher Program not only provides rental assistance -- it is and can be a rewarding program for enthusiastic participants who are interested in achieving homeownership.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/programs/housing-choice-voucher-program.html · CADA Housing Choice Voucher Program page, current page
16 of 19
Report a mistake
Use the form on this page.
17 of 19
Credit requirements
CADA's Annual PHA Plan states that a participating family must have a satisfactory credit score for the chosen lending product; no numeric minimum credit score was found in the official sources reviewed.
From the official source
“If the family has meet all requirements and is has a satisfactory credit score for the chosen lending product, he/she may utilize the Housing Choice Voucher funds for mortgage assistance.”
https://nc-cada.org/images/Annual-PHA.pdf · p. 9-10, Homeownership Programs
18 of 19
Eligible loan types
CADA must approve proposed mortgage financing, which must comply with generally accepted mortgage underwriting requirements. The Administrative Plan references HUD/FHA, Ginnie Mae, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, NCHFA, USDA Rural Housing Services, Federal Home Loan Bank, or other private lending institution standards for non-FHA-insured mortgages, but does not state a closed list of eligible loan types.
From the official source
“If a mortgage is not FHA-insured, the HA will require the lender to comply with generally accepted mortgage underwriting standards consistent with those of HUD/FHA, Ginnie Mae, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, North Carolina Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA), USDA Rural Housing Services, the Federal Home Loan Bank, or other private lending institution.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 117, Chapter 19 financing standards
19 of 19
Homebuyer education
Required.
A family's participation is conditioned on attending and successfully completing a homeownership and housing counseling program provided or approved by CADA before homeownership assistance begins; CADA may require continuing counseling.
From the official source
“A family's participation in the homeownership program is conditioned on the family attending and successfully completing a homeownership and housing counseling program provided or approved by the HA prior to commencement of homeownership assistance.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 114-115, Chapter 19 §3(b) Homeownership Counseling Program
“The counseling agency providing the counseling program shall either be approved by HUD or the program shall be consistent with the home ownership counseling provided under HUD's Housing Counseling program. The HA may require families to participate in a HA-approved home ownership counseling program on a continuing basis.”
https://www.nc-cada.org/images/2018%20HCVProg%20Administrative%20Plan.pdf · p. 114-115, Chapter 19 §3(b) Homeownership Counseling Program
Report a mistake
If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.
Other North Carolina down payment assistance programs
Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.
Assistance
Choanoke Area Housing Consortium Purchase Assistance ProgramHalifax County
Deferred loan
Community Partners Loan Pool (CPLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Forgivable loan
NC Home Advantage MortgageNorth Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Repayable loan
Self-Help Loan Pool (SHLP)North Carolina Housing Finance Agency
Assistance
Asheville Regional Housing Consortium HOME Down Payment Assistance (Dodd Meadows)City of Asheville Community Development Division
Deferred loan
Buncombe County Downpayment Assistance Program (Partner-Delivered)Buncombe County Community Development Division
Official sources for CADA Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program
The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.
Visit the official source →Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Choanoke Area Development Association of North Carolina, Inc. (CADA) or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 4.
Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.