DownPaymentMap

Durham & Chapel Hill NC Down Payment Assistance: CEF Match

Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer ProgramAdministered by Community Empowerment FundAssistanceNorth Carolina

Reviewed by Tyler Thompson, holds real estate licenses in North Carolina and South Carolina

Published · Facts verified against the official source

The program was paused when we checked on . Confirm with Community Empowerment Fund before you count on it.

What Is the Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program?

The Community Empowerment Fund (CEF) First-Time Homebuyer Program is a North Carolina homebuyer program that gives first-time buyers matched savings for down payment and closing costs, up to $8,000 in Durham County and up to $6,000 in Chapel Hill. It is run by Community Empowerment Fund and pairs the match with financial coaching and HUD-certified homebuyer education. It serves CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties.

The program is currently paused. CEF's homepage says so, as checked on October 2, 2026, so read this page as a guide to how it worked and may work again. To see other options, compare other North Carolina down payment assistance programs.

Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program at a glance

Maximum help
Up to $8,000.
Kind of help
A assistance.
First-time buyers only?
Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.
Where
Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.
Homebuyer education
CEF lists Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Certified Homebuyer Education among the services offered through the program; the current public page does not explicitly state whether completion is mandatory for every participant.
Current funding status
The program is paused.
Who runs it
Community Empowerment Fund

Check your eligibility

Answer a few quick questions to see whether Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program and other North Carolina programs may fit you.

Check eligibility →

Free, about two minutes. No name or email needed.

How Does the CEF Savings Match Work?

Instead of a loan, the help is a match on what you save. CEF materials describe a 2:1 savings match in Chapel Hill and a 3:1 match in Durham County, on up to $2,000 in member savings. That adds up to as much as $6,000 in Chapel Hill and $8,000 in Durham County for down payment and closing costs.

These are the terms CEF published earlier. Whether they apply when the program reopens has not been confirmed.

Who Qualifies for the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program?

These are the program's rules as far as CEF has published them.

  • First-time buyers: required. CEF created the program to help community members buy their first home.
  • Membership: the program supports CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties.
  • Income: an older CEF announcement discusses members making under 50% AMI, but the current page states no formal income limit.
  • Homebuyer education: HUD-certified education is part of the program. The current page does not say whether it is required for everyone.
  • Credit score, property types, occupancy and price limit: not stated.

Only CEF decides who is accepted.

Is the CEF Homebuyer Match a Grant or a Loan?

It is a matched-savings program, not a loan. The record states no interest rate, repayment terms or forgiveness period, so it does not describe the match as something you pay back.

Where Does the CEF Homebuyer Program Apply?

CEF says the program supports CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties. The match is described as 2:1 for buyers in the Town of Chapel Hill and 3:1 in Durham County. It is not stated whether matched help covers all of Orange County or only Chapel Hill, so ask CEF before you plan around a specific address.

How to Apply for the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program

CEF directs interested people to its First-Time Homebuyers Program interest form, where you review background information and screening questions. The program is paused, so check the page for the current status first. Questions can go to CEF at 919-200-0233 or tizg@communityempowermentfund.org.

You can also see which programs may fit you while this one is closed.

Questions about Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program

Is the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program open right now?

No. CEF's homepage says the program is paused, as checked on October 2, 2026.

How much does the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program give?

Up to $8,000 in Durham County and up to $6,000 in Chapel Hill, for down payment and closing costs, based on the terms CEF published earlier.

How does the CEF 2:1 and 3:1 savings match work?

CEF matches your savings 2:1 in Chapel Hill and 3:1 in Durham County, on up to $2,000 of member savings.

Can repeat buyers use the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program?

The program is for first-time buyers. CEF says it was created to help community members buy their first home.

What is the income limit for the CEF homebuyer program?

No formal current limit is stated. An older CEF announcement discusses members making under 50% AMI.

Does the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program cover closing costs?

Yes. The match can be used for down payment and closing costs.

Which counties does the CEF First-Time Homebuyer Program serve?

CEF says it supports CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties.

Complete Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program program record

The nineteen things a buyer needs to know, in the same order on every program page, each checked against the program’s official sources. Where the program does not state one, this says so.

  • 19 program details reviewed; 12 stated by the program
  • 3 official sources checked from Community Empowerment Fund
  • Last verified October 2, 2026
  • Current funding status: the program is paused
View all 19 verified program details ↓
  1. 1 of 19

    Program name

    Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program

    From the official source
  2. 2 of 19

    Who runs it

    Community Empowerment Fund

    919-200-0233

    tizg@communityempowermentfund.org

    From the official source
  3. 3 of 19

    Kind of help

    A assistance.

    Matched savings and financial assistance for first-time homebuyers' down payment and closing costs, combined with financial coaching and HUD-certified homebuyer education.

    From the official source
  4. 4 of 19

    Maximum amount

    Up to $8,000.

    Official CEF materials state that upon completion of the program, members were eligible for a 2:1 savings match in Chapel Hill and a 3:1 match in Durham County, up to $2,000 in member savings, yielding up to $6,000 in Chapel Hill and up to $8,000 in Durham for down payment and closing costs.

    From the official source
    • “Members buying in Durham can have up to $8,000.”

      https://communityempowermentfund.org/category/about/page/2/ · CEF First-Time Home-buyer Program is Now Open > program offerings and match paragraph

    • “Upon completion of our FHP, CEF Members are eligible for 2:1 savings match in Chapel Hill, and a 3:1 savings match in Durham County, up to $2,000. So, Members buying a home in the Town of Chapel Hill can have up to $6,000 to put toward down-payment and closing costs, and Members buying in Durham can have up to $8,000.”

      https://communityempowermentfund.org/category/about/page/2/ · CEF First-Time Home-buyer Program is Now Open > match paragraph

  5. 5 of 19

    Amount tiers

    The amount varies by tier.

    {"Chapel Hill":{"savings_match":"2:1","member_savings_cap_usd":2000,"maximum_total_for_down_payment_and_closing_usd":6000},"Durham County":{"savings_match":"3:1","member_savings_cap_usd":2000,"maximum_total_for_down_payment_and_closing_usd":8000}}

    From the official source
  6. 6 of 19

    Forgiveness, interest and term

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  7. 7 of 19

    Income limit

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  8. 8 of 19

    First-time buyer rule

    Yes. You must be a first-time buyer.

    CEF identifies this as its First-Time Homebuyer Program and says it created the program to help community members buy their first home.

    From the official source
  9. 9 of 19

    Maximum home price

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  10. 10 of 19

    Other must-know rules

    CEF's older official program announcement states the program supports CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties and discusses Members making under 50% AMI, but the current public program page does not state a formal current income limit or other detailed underwriting requirements.

    From the official source
    • “We believe our Members making under 50% AMI should have a fair shot at building generational wealth. We also want to set our Members up for success. Because of external income and stability requirements by mortgage lenders and affordable homeownership organizations, within a process that has been shaped and gatekept by racialized capitalism, not every CEF Member who applies to our program will be accepted.”

      https://communityempowermentfund.org/category/about/page/2/ · CEF First-Time Home-buyer Program is Now Open > eligibility discussion

  11. 11 of 19

    Where it applies

    Specific areas. Read the exact rule below.

    CEF states the program supports CEF Members in Orange and Durham counties. Official CEF materials describe a 2:1 savings match for buyers in the Town of Chapel Hill and a 3:1 savings match in Durham County.

    From the official source
  12. 12 of 19

    Current funding status

    The program is paused.

    CEF's current homepage states: “CEF First Time HomeBuyers Program is Paused.”

    Checked 2026-10-02.

    From the official source
  13. 13 of 19

    How to apply

    CEF's program page directs interested people to its First-Time Homebuyers Program interest form and asks them to review background information and screening questions; the page lists a CEF staff email for questions.

    From the official source
  14. 14 of 19

    Official source

  15. 15 of 19

    Dates

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  16. 16 of 19

    Report a mistake

    Use the form on this page.

  17. 17 of 19

    Credit requirements

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  18. 18 of 19

    Eligible loan types

    The program does not state this. Ask the administrator before relying on it.

  19. 19 of 19

    Homebuyer education

    CEF lists Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Certified Homebuyer Education among the services offered through the program; the current public page does not explicitly state whether completion is mandatory for every participant.

    From the official source

Report a mistake

If a figure here does not match the program’s own terms, tell us. Every report is read by a person and checked against the official source before the record changes.

A link to the official page or document helps most. Please do not include account numbers, your Social Security number or other financial details.

Only if you would like a reply. We use it for nothing else. Privacy notice.

Programs differ in how much they give, who they are for, where they apply and how they are repaid. These may be worth comparing.

Compare all North Carolina programs →

Official sources for Community Empowerment Fund First-Time Homebuyer Program

The facts on this page were taken from these sources. Read the program’s own terms there before you rely on a figure.

Visit the official source →

Program rules can change. Confirm current terms with Community Empowerment Fund or a participating lender before you rely on a figure. Record version 1.

Educational information, not a loan offer or an eligibility decision. Read the disclaimer or how we verify programs.